Author Topic: Report Studio Clob Issue  (Read 5275 times)

Offline wyconian

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 360
  • Forum Citizenship: +25/-0
Report Studio Clob Issue
« on: 30 Jun 2011 06:49:58 am »
Hi Guys

Has anyone come across this before?

I've got a clob text field in the warehouse which is coming through as a text blob data type in FM. 

If I drag the column onto a report on it's own it works OK but if I add another column from a different QS I get an errror.  Both QSs are joined OK; I can report agaisnt differnt items in the QSs. 

If I change the data type to varchar2(4000) it works OK which leads me to think the issue is to do with the clob data type.

The error message is kind of generic and doesn't really say much

An error occurred while performing operation 'sqlPrepareWithOptions' status='-201'.

The work around of changing the data type is OK for text fields < 4000 characters but I've now got fields 8000 + chrs long.

Anyone know how to resolve this so I don't have to start splitting the text fields?

Thanks for your help.

Simon

Offline RobsWalker68

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 299
  • Forum Citizenship: +28/-1
    • Linkedin Profile
Re: Report Studio Clob Issue
« Reply #1 on: 30 Jun 2011 07:27:03 am »
Hi Simon,

I'm not entirely sure of the answer but depending on your data source it may be possible that you need to set a determinant to provide additional key information.

Below is a note from the FM guide re:using determinants for Blob data types

"You want to uniquely identify the row of data when retrieving text BLOB data from the data source.
Querying blobs requires additional key or index type information. If this information is not present in the data source, you can add it using determinants. Override the determinants imported from the data source that conflict with relationships created for reporting.

You cannot use multiple-segment keys when the query subject accesses blob data. With summary queries, blob data must be retrieved separately from the summary portion of the query. To do this, you need a key that uniquely identifies the row and the key must not have multiple segments."

Regards

Rob

Offline Lynn

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2008
  • Posts: 2,610
  • Forum Citizenship: +335/-1
Re: Report Studio Clob Issue
« Reply #2 on: 30 Jun 2011 07:33:36 am »
I think you can't group by the column either, so maybe turn off auto group and summarize? Just a guess....

Offline wyconian

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 360
  • Forum Citizenship: +25/-0
Re: Report Studio Clob Issue
« Reply #3 on: 01 Jul 2011 05:07:34 am »
Thanks guys as usual big help.

 ;D

Offline pakhi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2017
  • Posts: 11
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Report Studio Clob Issue
« Reply #4 on: 06 Nov 2017 05:16:31 am »
Hi Team - I just noticed. Cognos can handle maximum 32766 characters but data set has more than these characters. Please suggest if something can be done to show all the characters in cognos report output.

 


       
Twittear