Author Topic: Logon Failed  (Read 2949 times)

Offline Diaonic

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Logon Failed
« on: 02 Feb 2013 08:21:27 pm »
I've been banging my head on this issue for two days now and I can't figure it out, I'm hoping someone with more Cognos experience can show me the error of my way.

Enviorment:
Windows Server 2008 R2 64 Bit
Cognos BI 10.2 64 Bit
IIS 7
DB2  10.1 Enterprise 64 Bit
Authenticating against Active Directory

I have Cognos installed, it works for all intensive purposes. I can login via web page, see all the functionality. The problem I'm having is when I load up framework manager and I try to connect to the data source.

Inside Cognos I've configured a data source to point to my DB2 database and it says connected and successful up testing. When I load framework manager and I attempt to use this connection this is the error message I get.


Quote
QE-DEF-0285 The logon failed.
QE-DEF-0325 The logon failed for the following reason:
RQP-DEF-0068 Unable to connect to at least one database during a multi-database attach to 1 database(s) in:
IRIS

UDA-SQL-0569 Unable to load the driver manager library ( db2cli.dll ).
UDA-SQL-0571 The operating system returned an error message ( The specified module could not be found. ).

Can anyone help?


If when creating a new project under framework manager I select Dynamic Query I get this error message:

Quote
BMT-MD-6001 Connection to the data source 'IRIS' failed because a valid connection string was not specified.


Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,337
  • Forum Citizenship: +206/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
Re: Logon Failed
« Reply #1 on: 03 Feb 2013 03:49:41 am »
Framework Manager uses different methods of connectivity depending on if you're using CQM or DQM.

When using CQM, Framework Manager will attempt to establish a direct connection to your datasource. This means you need whatever client tools installed on the Framework PC. If you're using an ODBC connection you will also need to define that in your windows data sources.

The DQM will retrieve the information via Cognos. This means you don't need to install client tools on your PC. You will, however, need to define the data source to support DQM. I'm not in front of a 10 installation, and I don't remember the exact steps needed. Log into Cognos and test it - it should tell you if it succeeds or fails for both CQM and DQM.

Offline Diaonic

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2013
  • Posts: 4
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Logon Failed
« Reply #2 on: 05 Feb 2013 08:26:29 am »
Thanks Paul you pointed me in the right direciton.

For anyone else having this issue I had to download the db2 java driver place it in the webcontent folder and also add it to the classpath under enviormental variables.



Offline esso6919

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 5
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Logon Failed
« Reply #3 on: 01 Aug 2013 04:55:16 pm »
I had a similar problem, but I needed to go to my Cognos Connection and modify my datasource, enabling the JDBC.
My Cognos Version is Cognos 10.2

 

 



         
Twittear