Author Topic: Powerplay 8.1.1/8.1.2  (Read 2268 times)

Offline rukus206

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Powerplay 8.1.1/8.1.2
« on: 18 Apr 2007 10:11:30 am »
Hello All -

On the Cognos support site where you download software, there are entries for PP 8.1.  Does anyone know if this is really PP or is it still AS dressed up as PP?  Thanks...

Offline COGNOiSe administrator

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Posts: 675
  • Forum Citizenship: +32/-8
    • BrightStar Partners, Inc
Re: Powerplay 8.1.1/8.1.2
« Reply #1 on: 18 Apr 2007 10:14:23 am »
No, it is PP 7.3 with an 8 logo on top.

Offline rukus206

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Powerplay 8.1.1/8.1.2
« Reply #2 on: 18 Apr 2007 12:19:27 pm »
Thx for the response...that's what I figured.

We're in the process of installing PP 7.4 into an existing C8.1 MR2 environment b/c our users don't like AS.  So, we'd like to give them the capability of PP Web along with the new C8 architecture.  With that in mind, I have two questions:

1) Are you aware of any caveats regarding this approach?  Of course, the Cognos stance is that it works fine...I've even reviewed their document entitled "Setting Up Series 7/Cognos 8 Interoperability."  I just thought I'd ask some folks who may have implemented this architecture.

2) This is also a good time for us to upgrade from 8.1 MR2 to C8.2.  To your knowledge, are there any major issues with PP 7.4 working with C8.2?  We suspect that it should work fine, but we logged a case with Cognos just to be safe.  Again, I just wanted to pick the brain of anyone who may have gone down this road.

Thanks...

Offline COGNOiSe administrator

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Posts: 675
  • Forum Citizenship: +32/-8
    • BrightStar Partners, Inc
Re: Powerplay 8.1.1/8.1.2
« Reply #3 on: 19 Apr 2007 08:16:50 am »
I'm running into minor issues with PP publishing to C8, but if you can have at least one server with everything but the kitchen sink on it, it seems to work fine. I'm still investigating if it might have been something I've missed during configuration, will try to force all cookies to a particular doamin, etc.

Offline rukus206

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Powerplay 8.1.1/8.1.2
« Reply #4 on: 19 Apr 2007 04:28:21 pm »
We're having similar problems.  Specifically, in PPES Admin (7.4) > (ServerName) > Properties > Folder Settings > 'Cognos 8 folder for cubes' we're getting the error msg "Could not retrieve the folder hierarchy from the portal."  I can't find anything helpful related to that msg.  I did see something related to forcing cookies to the domain, but I frankly don't know what that means.  This is what we currently have in that 'Cognos 8 folder for cubes' attribute in PPES:  "/content/folder[@name='PPES-Cubes']".

If you figure it out, please post or email me at jmr927@gmail.com.  If we happen to get it straight, I'll do the same.

Thx...

 


       
Twittear