Author Topic: Upgrade from Impromptu 7.x to Cognos 10  (Read 3257 times)

Offline Cappie

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Upgrade from Impromptu 7.x to Cognos 10
« on: 26 Mar 2014 10:52:01 pm »
Hello,
I am looking for advice on the best practices for upgrading Impromptu reports and models to a new Cognos 10.2 environment.  I am very interested in any solutions that are pre-built and will save time and $$.

Thank you in advance.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,290
  • Forum Citizenship: +621/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Upgrade from Impromptu 7.x to Cognos 10
« Reply #1 on: 02 Apr 2014 06:10:01 am »
Hi,

Because the architectures and best practices are so radically different between Cognos 7 and Cognos 10, my view is it's better to view the process of moving from one to the other as a migration rather than an upgrade. IBM provide migration tools to allow you to transfer catalogs and reports over, but almost without exception there is a huge amount of rework to be dome to make the results useable. Many businesses take the opportunity to review the current reports and reporting metadata to examine how much of it is still relevant and required. Often it can be quicker to create new metadata and reports in Cognos 10 from scratch than to try to make migrated content work as desired. Just my opinion, of course.

You can find some good resources and links for migrating on the IBM Upgrade Central:

http://www-01.ibm.com/software/analytics/cognos/customercenter/upgrade.html

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline rockky

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 25
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Upgrade from Impromptu 7.x to Cognos 10
« Reply #2 on: 11 Apr 2014 01:02:19 pm »
Hi

To continue on the same topic, what practices can one implement in case of complete rewrite/upgrade to avoid time consuming efforts like for eg. in framework modelling one can use "language translation capability"(Bulk_Loading_Screen_Tips_into_Framework_Manager) to speed up building business layer.

Are there any such tricks on speeding things up in framework or report building with respect to migration project without using migration tools, the scope is huge in terms of tables/catalogs/reports?

thanks
« Last Edit: 11 Apr 2014 01:11:29 pm by rockky »

Offline Cappie

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2014
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Upgrade from Impromptu 7.x to Cognos 10
« Reply #3 on: 10 Sep 2014 10:11:08 am »
Hi,
I recently saw what looks like a solution or at least a process that may reduce time and cost.

http://biiconsulting.com/bii_modulus.php

Anyone out there have any experience with this?  Any thoughts?

 


       
Twittear