Author Topic: Metric Studio access issue  (Read 5231 times)

Offline snadgir30

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 34
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Metric Studio access issue
« on: 03 Jul 2007 06:49:00 am »
Hi CognosGuru's,
I have installed Cognos 8 metrics studio server & Metric designer on different paths.
I have successfully created metric store & cognos server is up & running.
Now i am trying to create default package gometrics as mentioned in installation guide.
When i try to create package using Metric Studio link it shows me error that says -'Java.Lang.Stackoutof memoryerror'
Please let me know solution to this problem ??? if anybody has come across such situation.
Any help / pointers are appreciated.
thanks in advance.  ;)


Regards,
Sudeshna

Offline nareshcognos

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 1
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Metric Studio access issue
« Reply #1 on: 05 Nov 2008 02:20:07 am »
Hi,

we are trying to create a new Metric store in SQL Server database. Could you tell me the steps? as we are tried the steps mentioned in the documentation for running file cmm_create_DB, Please tell me the steps how to create a new db for metric store?

We are entering the below path but not successful:-
cmm_Create_Db hostname databasenameuseridpassword[user_to_create]

we are not able to create the metricstore.

Many thanks
Regards
Naresh

Offline moogimr

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 1
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Metric Studio access issue
« Reply #2 on: 21 Dec 2010 09:45:14 am »
Are you able to create Metric Store SQL Server database ...


Offline AussiePete2011

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2011
  • Posts: 311
  • Forum Citizenship: +19/-0
Re: Metric Studio access issue
« Reply #3 on: 15 Mar 2011 12:15:19 am »
Hi there.

If you have 8.4 all you need to do is create a database schema in SQL Server (assuming of course that you have checked that the version of SQL Server is compatible with your Cognos 8 installation)

Add a data source in IBM Cognos Connection
The last stage of the data source wizard provides you an option to create a metric package.  Check this option and then this will take you through to the Metric Store initialization wizard.

Are you on 8.4?
If you are not then you will need to follow the steps as per the technote for SQL Server using cmm_create_db.  The most important aspect of this is that the database must use a collation of Latin Case Insensitive

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/c8bi/v8r4m0/topic/com.ibm.swg.im.cognos.qrc_inst.8.4.0.doc/qrc_inst_id1152inst_CreatetheMetricStore.html#inst_CreatetheMetricStore

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/c8bi/v8r4m0/topic/com.ibm.swg.im.cognos.inst_cr_winux.8.4.1.doc/inst_cr_winux_id8931c8bi_SetUpDatabaseClientforMetricSt.html#c8bi_SetUpDatabaseClientforMetricStoreonAppTierComponentsComputer

Hope this helps
Cheers
Peter B

 


       
Twittear