Author Topic: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page  (Read 4879 times)

Offline gosoccer

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 633
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-1
  • Be kind and help others. You'll face the same!
Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« on: 26 Mar 2015 12:40:42 pm »
Friends,

We have the Cognos RTM product 10.2.2 configured and all configuration steps went well using IBM Websphere product for the Web Server and the App Server. Unfortunately, after going over all the configuration steps, the final URL is navigating to a blank page. The page source in IE shows the source related to the Landingpage.htm but nothing is shown.

If anyone has any ideas, please let me know.

Thank you in advance for your time.

Offline gosoccer

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 633
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-1
  • Be kind and help others. You'll face the same!
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #1 on: 26 Mar 2015 01:58:17 pm »
The following error is raised as a part of Java Console. IE 10 is used.
The following error raised in Java Console as soon as I can the url,

HTML1202: http://hostname/cognos/realtime/landing/landingpage.htm is running in Compatibility View because 'Display intranet sites in Compatibility View' is checked.
landingpage.htm
SCRIPT438: Object doesn't support property or method 'getAttribute'
i18n.js, line 189 character 7
SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'selectSingleNode' of undefined or null reference
l10n.js, line 21 character 1
SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'LANDINGPAGE.PAGETITLE' of undefined or null reference
i18n.js, line 62 character 94

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,901
  • Forum Citizenship: +598/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #2 on: 27 Mar 2015 07:32:36 am »
The following error is raised as a part of Java Console. IE 10 is used.
The following error raised in Java Console as soon as I can the url,

HTML1202: http://hostname/cognos/realtime/landing/landingpage.htm is running in Compatibility View because 'Display intranet sites in Compatibility View' is checked.
landingpage.htm
SCRIPT438: Object doesn't support property or method 'getAttribute'
i18n.js, line 189 character 7
SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'selectSingleNode' of undefined or null reference
l10n.js, line 21 character 1
SCRIPT5007: Unable to get property 'LANDINGPAGE.PAGETITLE' of undefined or null reference
i18n.js, line 62 character 94


According to the support site, IE10 is supported only in Compatibility Mode for RTM 10.2.2. You also need to have Adobe Flash plug-in Version 9 or 10.

http://www-969.ibm.com/software/reports/compatibility/clarity-reports/report/html/prereqTabViewDetails?osPlatform=spcrAllValues&dsrType=tsr&deliverableId=1391013543612&productName=Cognos+Business+Intelligence+10.2.2.0&prereqId=1329240809240&prereqName=Microsoft+Internet+Explorer+10&capName=Web+Browsers&isDUOnly=false&isMandatory=false&osPlatforms=spcrAllValues&duComponentIds=D034|D029|D033|D022|D035|D032|D019|D016|D030|D020|D027|D031|D023|D025|D021|D037|D024|D028|D014|S038|S003|S001|S007|S036|S039|S002|S008|M013|M012

MF.
Meep!

Offline gosoccer

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 633
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-1
  • Be kind and help others. You'll face the same!
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #3 on: 27 Mar 2015 09:11:47 am »
Thank you so much MF. I'll check it out.

Do you by any chance know of a good document (Not IBM Installation Guide) that describes the IBM Case Manager and RTM working together and how the SECURITY as far as using LDAP (Authentication) and User Roles can be established between ICM and RTM?

 :) :)

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,901
  • Forum Citizenship: +598/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #4 on: 27 Mar 2015 09:34:16 am »
Do you by any chance know of a good document (Not IBM Installation Guide) that describes the IBM Case Manager and RTM working together and how the SECURITY as far as using LDAP (Authentication) and User Roles can be established between ICM and RTM?

I've never even seen Case Manager, sorry. I know nothing about it at all :(

MF.
Meep!

Offline gosoccer

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 633
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-1
  • Be kind and help others. You'll face the same!
RESOLVED: Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #5 on: 28 Mar 2015 07:59:04 pm »
ICM is the same as IBM Cognos Case Manager.
Thank you of your time. The blank landing page issue has been resolved.
Kamran

Offline Papave

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
    • Keyword SARL
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #6 on: 30 Apr 2015 06:26:35 am »
Hi,

I didn't start a new post since I seem to be facing the same issue.

I'm using cognos RTM 10.2.2, installed on a Windows8 computer...with IE11 (in compatibility mode).

http://localhost/cognos/realtime/landing/landingpage.htm always shows up blank.

When I turn on the debugger, I get this :
com.cognos.obi.i18n.setTerm(elementPrefix+tagName,oXML.getAttribute('v')) --> object method or property not supported

Did anyone solve this or got it to work?

Thanks a lot,

Papave

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,901
  • Forum Citizenship: +598/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #7 on: 30 Apr 2015 08:43:33 am »
Hi,

I didn't start a new post since I seem to be facing the same issue.

I'm using cognos RTM 10.2.2, installed on a Windows8 computer...with IE11 (in compatibility mode).

http://localhost/cognos/realtime/landing/landingpage.htm always shows up blank.

When I turn on the debugger, I get this :
com.cognos.obi.i18n.setTerm(elementPrefix+tagName,oXML.getAttribute('v')) --> object method or property not supported

Did anyone solve this or got it to work?

Thanks a lot,

Papave

Unless I'm very much mistaken, Windows 8 isn't a supported platform to install RTM on?

MF.
Meep!

Offline Papave

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
    • Keyword SARL
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #8 on: 01 May 2015 03:35:04 am »
MFGF,

That's right. I'll try it in a VM then.

Papave

Offline Blue

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 266
  • Forum Citizenship: +15/-0
  • The earth is one country ... Baha'i Faith
Re: Cognos RTM and a Blank Landing Page
« Reply #9 on: 13 Jun 2016 07:36:57 pm »
"ICM is the same as IBM Cognos Case Manager." ????

They're two completely different tools!

ICM (was Varicent) is a tool that calculates the commissions that sales people get paid (to put it simply).  It has it's own specialised reporting engine and doesn't (or at least didn't) have anything to do with Cognos BI.

Case Manager is a tool for handling case loads - customer service complaints, parole, insurance claims, public housing, etc. and it common in public service departments.  Cognos RTM utilises Cognos BI to provide case load analysis via dashboards.
Robert Edis
Principal
Robert Edis Consulting
Wellington, New Zealand

 


       
Twittear