Author Topic: Cognos 8 Automation  (Read 9229 times)

Offline davidsoc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 40
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Cognos 8 Automation
« on: 19 Sep 2005 08:40:51 am »
Has anyone seen enough of Cognos 8 to know if there is any OLAP cube build automation built in?

By that i mean, back-up, build, verify, move to production etc. We are looking to develop this using a macro supplied on Cognos SupportLink but do not want to put too much effort into if we are upgrading in 6 months anyway.

Thanks for any help!

Chris

Offline ReportNet Addict

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 957
  • Forum Citizenship: +65/-41
  • Creator of the Impact Suite
    • The Impact Suite
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #1 on: 19 Sep 2005 05:29:45 pm »
Have you looked on Cognos Support... There's already something there about series 8.

Offline davidsoc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 40
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #2 on: 20 Sep 2005 02:51:51 am »
I've been looking for product documentation etc but can't find anything in the support area... can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Chris

Offline ReportNet Addict

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 957
  • Forum Citizenship: +65/-41
  • Creator of the Impact Suite
    • The Impact Suite
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #3 on: 20 Sep 2005 03:37:27 am »
Sorry.. but the Series 8 SDK Knowledge base is still empty :S
Sorry

Darek

  • Guest
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #4 on: 27 Sep 2005 04:43:39 pm »
You'll be using Series7 Transformer to build the cubes for Series8. Call it a vision if you'd like.  ::)

Offline Rosella

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 1
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #5 on: 10 May 2008 01:24:41 pm »
Hi Guys,

We are using Tranformer 8.3 to create cubes in Cognos Connection, does and of you know if we are still able to use Cognos Script 7.4 to automate the process of build cube, archive, copy,...

Thanks in advance
Rose

Offline biejorrun

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2007
  • Posts: 60
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #6 on: 19 May 2008 06:14:36 am »

Offline rblanquez

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #7 on: 19 May 2008 06:41:21 am »
Hello,

If you use Transformer 7.4, you can get it with Cognos Script Macro.
If you use Transformer 8.3, you need an MDL script, but this script allows you to generate the cube, but what happens if you need to create custom view associated to user class?

Offline Memphis

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #8 on: 04 Nov 2011 11:33:57 pm »
Has anyone seen enough of Cognos 8 to know if there is any OLAP cube build automation built in?

By that i mean, back-up, build, verify, move to production etc. We are looking to develop this using a macro supplied on Cognos SupportLink but do not want to put too much effort into if we are upgrading in 6 months anyway.

Thanks for any help!

Chris

hi, i never seen OLAP cube build automation but what i know i heard there are 2 utilities available for Cognos 8 Cube automation.

a) CubeSwap Utility to swap the old and new cube
b) pcConn Utility which updates the Cube Data souce connection to the new cube.

Please let me know, which one is the best way to refresh the Cube in Cognos 8.3 environment.

Offline nmcdermaid

  • Senior Consultant
  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2010
  • Posts: 76
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Re: Cognos 8 Automation
« Reply #9 on: 15 Feb 2012 03:48:25 am »
Version 8.4 of Transformer contains something called 'deployments' which automatically publishes cubes up to the content store without requiering unwieldy cubeswap scripts.

You just need to call COGTR.EXE with the correct command line to build and publish your cube automagically.

Its all in the manual.

I have also attached a mor concise summary of it.

Please let me know if this document is useful.

 


       
Twittear