Author Topic: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x  (Read 11530 times)

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« on: 26 Dec 2015 02:50:42 am »
I have downloaded my c11 media from passport and i have some contradictions.

They say Analysis Studio is obsolete but they ship transformer 10.2.2 version with c11

They do not ship Framework manager so i suppose that fm is now replaced with the universal studio i saw when i clicked add data model?

Did not play long with it but it sure looks current as ui but all the options seem hidden... New report designer seem very nice and options are there somewhere...

But what about my FM workflow, where am i going to create my model layers e.t.c....

Anyone had the time to go around these things with c11?

And of course no word for existing upgrade to c11 ... I suspect though that it is possible to use existing models...
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline cognostechie

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 1,538
  • Forum Citizenship: +132/-7
    • Pervisol
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #1 on: 26 Dec 2015 11:34:04 am »

You can find FM here:

https://www-112.ibm.com/software/howtobuy/passportadvantage

Go to the download screen and search using 'Part Description' . See attached.

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #2 on: 26 Dec 2015 02:01:30 pm »
mmm I just tried to redownload my package from passport and now i can see framework also...

So it means that everything remains as we know it?

Are there any breaking changes that prevent my 10.2.x models to be upgraded directly to 11?
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline cognostechie

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 1,538
  • Forum Citizenship: +132/-7
    • Pervisol
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #3 on: 26 Dec 2015 06:23:33 pm »
They won't do anything which would prevent existing applications to stop working in the new version. Whenever they discontinue something they give lot of advance notice so that customers know what to expect and get enough time (years) to migrate their applications.

If any software company discontinues any tool unexpectedly, they would earn a bad reputation in the industry which would adversely affect their marketing and eventually will have to go out of business because people would stop trusting them and stop buying their software. 

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #4 on: 27 Dec 2015 12:07:48 am »
I wouldn't bet on this ..After all it is a major release not a point release and they gave some notices on 10.2.2 on various studios.

Don't get me wrong , i love Cognos but IBM (at least for the past 7 years that i am on the Cognos wagon), has shown some strange behaviour.

Now that i am looking through the downloaded media , i can see a mix of 10.2.2 and 11 versions.

FM is 11 transformer is 10.2.2 e.t.c

So yes , i will keep asking what breaks until IBM realizes that there has to be some consistency, even in matters that seem "trivial"...
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,456
  • Forum Citizenship: +571/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #6 on: 04 Jan 2016 06:34:28 am »
Hi,

The legacy studios such as Analysis Studio and Query Studio are still present in Cognos Analytics. There are some important changes you need to be aware of, though. Cognos Connection is no longer the main method of report distribution in Cognos Analytics - there is a new "portal" that introduces the new look-and-feel changes. Report Studio and Cognos Workspace Advanced do not exist in Cognos Analytics - they have both been replaced by the new CA Reporting interface. Cognos Workspace is still there (for now) but the "Do More" option has been removed on widgets - which ties in with Cognos Workspace Advanced no longer being there. The Cognos Viewer is now interactive - providing a lot of the interactivity you find in Cognos Workspace, although it can be switched to the old static viewer on a report-by-report basis if required (eg if you need drill-through).

We have a whole new set of boards about to go live on Cognoise for Cognos Analytics - once they are up, we will move these posts to a more suitable home :)

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #7 on: 04 Jan 2016 06:47:12 am »
Hi,

The legacy studios such as Analysis Studio and Query Studio are still present in Cognos Analytics. There are some important changes you need to be aware of, though. Cognos Connection is no longer the main method of report distribution in Cognos Analytics - there is a new "portal" that introduces the new look-and-feel changes. Report Studio and Cognos Workspace Advanced do not exist in Cognos Analytics - they have both been replaced by the new CA Reporting interface. Cognos Workspace is still there (for now) but the "Do More" option has been removed on widgets - which ties in with Cognos Workspace Advanced no longer being there. The Cognos Viewer is now interactive - providing a lot of the interactivity you find in Cognos Workspace, although it can be switched to the old static viewer on a report-by-report basis if required (eg if you need drill-through).

We have a whole new set of boards about to go live on Cognoise for Cognos Analytics - once they are up, we will move these posts to a more suitable home :)

Cheers!

MF.

Thanks MF , looking forward for the new forums..

Tried the past week C11 and couldn;t get it to work with IIS. seems /bi is hardcoded somewhere. Opened a PMR avout it though...I am testing it with standard gateway url for now.

I have seen the things you say, so there is a "split-feeling"..Some new UI with OLD. Full-Administration is with the old-ui whereas the portal-admin is with the new UI..

I am liking the new UI but this split feeling must go away....
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,456
  • Forum Citizenship: +571/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #8 on: 04 Jan 2016 07:21:13 am »
Thanks MF , looking forward for the new forums..

Tried the past week C11 and couldn;t get it to work with IIS. seems /bi is hardcoded somewhere. Opened a PMR avout it though...I am testing it with standard gateway url for now.

I have seen the things you say, so there is a "split-feeling"..Some new UI with OLD. Full-Administration is with the old-ui whereas the portal-admin is with the new UI..

I am liking the new UI but this split feeling must go away....

Did you run the installer and select a "Ready to Run" install, or did you choose the "Custom" option? I have a feeling you need the latter to be able to use your web server (although I could be wrong - I haven't had chance to run an install yet). I have a feeling you only get the gateway component the web server needs if you select it from a Custom install.

Cheers!

MF.
« Last Edit: 04 Jan 2016 07:24:30 am by MFGF »
Meep!

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Cognos Analytics 11 and existing 10.x
« Reply #9 on: 04 Jan 2016 07:23:55 am »
I did all my tests with custom option adding the custom gateway.

The docs the support provides are the same as for the C10 IIS setup.

But even after you do the steps, you may be able to login but he redirects you to the /bi , regardless of your custom virtual-dir in IIS...

Also the index and default html files are changed and are lighter including only a redirection.

I have th ePMR open as the R&D is looking into my case ....
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

 


           
Twittear