Author Topic: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11  (Read 12386 times)

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
So i installed C11

Followed all the steps from 10.2.x installations and everything seems ok.

The installation is a bit different as there is one exe file now, but nothing very strange.

Default url is /bi .

I configured IIS for /bi as virtual directory. Also configured isapi.

Now when i hit the url i get a redirect loop....

I cant figure out what is the problem.

Anyone care to give a hand to get me off the mud?

« Last Edit: 28 Dec 2015 12:16:38 am by EarthDog »
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline bvk.cognoise

  • BVK
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2011
  • Posts: 292
  • Forum Citizenship: +11/-2
  • Think-Do-Be<Positive>
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #1 on: 06 Jan 2016 11:48:50 pm »
Hi EarthDog,

What is the Virtual directory name which you have created?Could you please try to replace bi with the your Cognos Virtual directory name. Because I have installed it I don't see any issue .

If still there is any issue could you please elaborate you issue?


Regards
BVK

Regards
BVK

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #2 on: 07 Jan 2016 12:28:32 am »
I created /cognos as i always do in my 10.2.2 installs.

I then configure cgi-bin and the rest of IIS as known.

Until 10.2.2 the only place where you find the /ibmcognos (now /bi) directory is in the 2 html files index and default in teh webcontent dir.

Now in C11 there are also other files that have this /bi in them and the defualt index in the webcontent directory is simpler now. It just have a redirect to /bi.

I tried everything..I tried changing all of them to /cognos but no luck.

the root webcontent /cognos has to be changed to /cognos/cgi-bin/cognosisapi.dll?........ in order to get to the login screen.

But even then after you login youget redirected to/bi out of nowhere....

Of course IBM Configuration settings are changed accordingly..
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline james.m.mueller

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Apr 2011
  • Posts: 5
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #3 on: 13 Jan 2016 01:41:52 pm »
Running into the same issues you are, the infinite redirect, other options end up not going anywhere.  Have you had any luck?  As far as I can tell we need the Gateway to do WebDAV and SSL.  Unless I'm missing something.

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #4 on: 14 Jan 2016 01:41:06 am »
Running into the same issues you are, the infinite redirect, other options end up not going anywhere.  Have you had any luck?  As far as I can tell we need the Gateway to do WebDAV and SSL.  Unless I'm missing something.

Yes you will end up nowhere :)

I have a PMR open that waits from answer from R&D, it is a documented problem.

Until then i am not even thinking of moving C11 to production server. I am just testing various stuff on a side server using the built-in gateway

Hopefully FP1 will solve them (or even an interim fix)
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline cadams

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 49
  • Forum Citizenship: +5/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #5 on: 19 Jan 2016 05:20:04 pm »
OK Guys I've been working with IBM on this and we have a very convoluted solution, I suspect IBM will change things in the future but ask IBM to look up PMR 01666 999 616, for the time being I have Cognos Analytics 11 working with Cognos ISAPI and Single Signon.

I will document the solution today and post

Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #6 on: 20 Jan 2016 02:41:39 am »
OK Guys I've been working with IBM on this and we have a very convoluted solution, I suspect IBM will change things in the future but ask IBM to look up PMR 01666 999 616, for the time being I have Cognos Analytics 11 working with Cognos ISAPI and Single Signon.

I will document the solution today and post

thanks!
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0


Offline EarthDog

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 168
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #8 on: 22 Jan 2016 12:48:09 am »
Thanks again!

I will be reading it...
Cognos 10.2 / DW:MS SQL 2008 / ERP: JDEdwards 8.0

Offline mcc.chernandez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 35
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #9 on: 29 Jan 2016 05:36:44 pm »
Nice notes. IBM provides a similar document which worked in our environment

Offline MSTRCognos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 17
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #10 on: 03 Feb 2016 02:48:47 pm »
Thank you very much  mcc.chernandez for sharing the Titan SSO via IIS word document.

I am able to configure as per the instructions and the SSO works fine with the below URL.

http://<webserver>/ibmcognos/cgi-bin/cognosisapi.dll?b_action=xts.run&m=portal/main.xts&m_redirect=/ibmcognos/bi/

Is there a way we can launch the Cognos Analytics URL like http://<webserver>/<alias> ,How we used to do in the previous version of Cognos.

I am not sure what needs to be modified in the default.htm or index.html files.

Appreciate your help in advance.

Offline mcc.chernandez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 35
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #11 on: 05 Feb 2016 12:51:16 pm »
Assuming you followed the IBM document attached earlier, what worked for me is to edit the index.html and default.htm files at C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\analytics\webcontent. Notice in those files by default browsing to /ibmcognos redirects you to /bi - change it to:

Code: [Select]
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; URL=http://your-cognos-server/ibmcognos/cgi-bin/cognosisapi.dll?b_action=xts.run&m=portal/main.xts&m_redirect=/ibmcognos/bi/">

So your users go to http://your-cognos-server/ibmcognos and that redirects to the "SSO" link (which does its own redirect back to /bi after the authentication info is captured). You can even setup a redirect right at the Default Web Site level. Have the redirect send you to /ibmcognos which then triggers the next redirects for SSO. Users can then simply go to http://your-cognos-server

The downside is these redirects take a bit to process. Hopefully someone more versed in IIS can come up with a better solution.

Offline MSTRCognos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 17
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #12 on: 09 Feb 2016 03:24:59 pm »
Thank you very much for the response.

Yes I have followed the document and updated the index.html and default.htm as per your suggestion.

If I go to http://your-cognos-server/ibmcognos it shows blank.

When I go to the http://your-cognos-server:9300/ibmcognos it allows me to see the Cognos Analytics Home page but I can see only Team Content and Top level folders under the Team Content but not the reports or folders in that level.


I do not have this issue when I go to http://your-cognos-server//bi/v1/disp URL.

Could you please advise on this behavior.


Offline mcc.chernandez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 35
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #13 on: 09 Feb 2016 07:55:13 pm »
How is your authentication setup in IIS? I have Anonymous Auth for Default Web Site and Integrated Windows Auth for /ibmcognos. I suppose you could also simply point the Default Web Site to the webcontent folder with Windows Auth and just do the redirect there - I may try that next week

Offline MSTRCognos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 17
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Redirect loop after installation of Cognos Analytics 11
« Reply #14 on: 10 Feb 2016 01:27:02 pm »
Thanks for the quick response.

I have Anonymous Auth for Default Web Site and for /ibmcognos earlier.

I just modified the /ibmcognos as Integrated Windows Auth enabled,But there is no change in the behavior.

 



           
Twittear