Author Topic: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration  (Read 2655 times)

Offline Raghuvir

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 413
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-4
Hi All,

We are using cognos 10.2.2. We recently applied fix pack 4. After application of this we noticed that the cubes are gone into an unknown state. We are not sure if this is the after effect of applying the fix pack.

However we are able to run the reports based on those cubes but not able to manage the cube.

Request you to guide us if anyone has faced this issue.

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Raghuvir
« Last Edit: 19 Jan 2016 03:31:44 am by MFGF »

Offline Raghuvir

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 413
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-4
Re: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration
« Reply #1 on: 19 Jan 2016 03:09:02 am »
Apologies for typing error in the subject. I meant to say dynamic cubes.
« Last Edit: 19 Jan 2016 03:32:03 am by MFGF »

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,988
  • Forum Citizenship: +600/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration
« Reply #2 on: 19 Jan 2016 03:33:19 am »
Hi All,

We are using cognos 10.2.2. We recently applied fix pack 4. After application of this we noticed that the cubes are gone into an unknown state. We are not sure if this is the after effect of applying the fix pack.

However we are able to run the reports based on those cubes but not able to manage the cube.

Request you to guide us if anyone has faced this issue.

Thanks in advance.

Regards
Raghuvir

Did you apply Fix Pack 4 to both the Cognos BI server 64-bit and the Cube Designer 32-bit installs?

MF.
Meep!

Offline bus_pass_man

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 245
  • Forum Citizenship: +30/-0
Re: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration
« Reply #3 on: 19 Jan 2016 07:12:14 am »
Yes I have encountered this issue.

Try this

1. Go into status / system
2. Drill down into query service.
3.  Click on the set properties button.
4. Click the settings tab.
5. Go into environment dynamic cube configurations.
This launches the Set dynamic cube configurations - QueryService dialog.
Are the cubes showing up in the data source list?
6. If not, click on new configuration.  If they are go to step 9.
They might show up in the available entries list.
7. Click on them and press the add button
8. Click OK.
9. click OK in the Set dynamic cube configurations - QueryService dialog
10. click OK in the set properties- query service dialog.
11. Go back to the dynamic cubes list
You might need to refresh it but the status of the cubes should now show as 'unavailable'.
12. Start the cubes.
Their status will change to partially available and then available once they have started up.





Offline Raghuvir

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 413
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-4
Re: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration
« Reply #4 on: 19 Jan 2016 11:57:00 pm »
Did you apply Fix Pack 4 to both the Cognos BI server 64-bit and the Cube Designer 32-bit installs?

MF.

Hi MFGF,


Yes we have applied fix pack for both 64 bit and 32 bit applications.

When checked with the team...we applied fix pack version 3. My apologies for mentioning the wrong version before.


Regards
Raghuvir

Offline Raghuvir

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 413
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-4
Re: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration
« Reply #5 on: 20 Jan 2016 12:01:50 am »
Yes I have encountered this issue.

Try this

1. Go into status / system
2. Drill down into query service.
3.  Click on the set properties button.
4. Click the settings tab.
5. Go into environment dynamic cube configurations.
This launches the Set dynamic cube configurations - QueryService dialog.
Are the cubes showing up in the data source list?
6. If not, click on new configuration.  If they are go to step 9.
They might show up in the available entries list.
7. Click on them and press the add button
8. Click OK.
9. click OK in the Set dynamic cube configurations - QueryService dialog
10. click OK in the set properties- query service dialog.
11. Go back to the dynamic cubes list
You might need to refresh it but the status of the cubes should now show as 'unavailable'.
12. Start the cubes.
Their status will change to partially available and then available once they have started up.






Thanks bus_pass_man...we tried the above steps...but still the status is unknown...we even tried to publish a new cube...but still the status of the newly published cube is unknown.

Regards
Raghuvir

Offline Suresh Reddy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 10
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: all dynamic cubes in unknown state in cognos administration
« Reply #6 on: 11 Mar 2016 03:22:43 am »
I have observed this type of behaviour.

Is your all serves and individual services are showing available in IBM Cognos Administration under System level ?

If yes, please try to restart the query services on server where dynamic cube showing unknown.

If not, try to restart all servers cognos services in correct order, so that all dispatcher and cube status will be resisted in CM.

 


       
Twittear