Author Topic: Image URLs now HTTPS ?  (Read 2305 times)

Offline hardstep

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2007
  • Posts: 65
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
  • IBM Champion
    • Barrachd
Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« on: 03 Feb 2016 06:21:23 am »
Hi Folks
I've noticed that image URLs in the new dashboarding world are HTTPS only now - has anyone worked out a way to reference plain old insecure HTTP image references ?.
The online documentation states : Image URLs can use http or secure http format.
Is there a setting that can be tweaked to allow this ?.
I'm struggling to understand why this has been enforced in this new version ?
Cheers
N
« Last Edit: 03 Feb 2016 06:27:17 am by hardstep »

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,901
  • Forum Citizenship: +598/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #1 on: 03 Feb 2016 11:34:20 am »
Hi Folks
I've noticed that image URLs in the new dashboarding world are HTTPS only now - has anyone worked out a way to reference plain old insecure HTTP image references ?.
The online documentation states : Image URLs can use http or secure http format.
Is there a setting that can be tweaked to allow this ?.
I'm struggling to understand why this has been enforced in this new version ?
Cheers
N

Not for me? I can use http:// with no problem. Have you enabled ssl in your Cognos Analytics instance? Could it be this that is causing you issues?

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline cognosjon

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 190
  • Forum Citizenship: +9/-2
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #2 on: 03 Oct 2016 10:48:08 am »
Afternoon,
Did anyone ever get to the bottom of this question. Its been noticed today after we updated our environment to 11.0.4 that its now requesting https connections for all weblinks/images we wish to display in a portal.

It wasn't doing this in 11.0.3 and we've not made any config changes so feels like an enforced change by the update.

Offline pdeneche

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #3 on: 07 Nov 2016 02:02:57 pm »
Did you find the solution?
for me, under 11.0.4, you do no have choice, it is HTTPS if you want to use url function.
thank.

Offline cognosjon

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 190
  • Forum Citizenship: +9/-2
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #4 on: 07 Nov 2016 03:42:35 pm »
Nope not solved this one yet. It got pushed to the back of my queue.
Think I'll pick it up again though and push for an answer .

I'll update if I find anything


Offline Christian85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 29
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #5 on: 07 Nov 2016 05:12:10 pm »
Hi,

do you get an error of any kind? What browser are you using?

I'm calling my R4 via http and can still embed images from both http & https in a dashboard. You on the other hand might be calling your Cognos via https as MFGF has mentioned and when you try to embed http data you create so called mixed content. Depending on the browser you might get an error or just nothing and you might need to adjust its security settings.

Chris

Offline cognosjon

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 190
  • Forum Citizenship: +9/-2
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #6 on: 07 Nov 2016 05:30:27 pm »
Hi.
I'm  running over http and using both chrome and IE.
This issue only occurred for us after upgrading to R4 from R3.
Prior to that we had no issues.

Strange 

Offline Christian85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 29
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #7 on: 08 Nov 2016 04:39:03 am »
Hi.
I'm  running over http and using both chrome and IE.
This issue only occurred for us after upgrading to R4 from R3.
Prior to that we had no issues.

Strange
Do you get any error message or are the images just not showing up?

Offline cognosjon

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 190
  • Forum Citizenship: +9/-2
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #8 on: 08 Nov 2016 05:31:50 am »
sorry forgot you asked about error message ::)

After entering the web address I get the following message:

"The web page must be linked using an HTTPS link for the browser to display it"

I've attached a screenshot of the error.

Thanks

Offline Christian85

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 29
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #9 on: 08 Nov 2016 06:01:29 am »
"The web page must be linked using an HTTPS link for the browser to display it"
No worries, thank you. :) I tested the described behavior with another element - I just added a picture, in which case you can use HTTP and HTTPS. Media and web-pages on the other hand need to be using HTTPS, which in fact is a cognos requirement:

"You must specify media and web page URLs in secure http (https) format. Image URLs can use http or secure http format. URLs are validated for format only; you must ensure that the link is valid."

Not sure why they are enforcing this though ...

http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSEP7J_11.0.0/com.ibm.swg.ba.cognos.ug_ca_dshb.doc/wa_an_adding_text_media_webpage_image.html

Offline cognosjon

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 190
  • Forum Citizenship: +9/-2
Re: Image URLs now HTTPS ?
« Reply #10 on: 08 Nov 2016 06:27:04 am »
Cheers, so conformation really that in R4 it can now only be https for Web links.
Oh well

 


       
Twittear