Author Topic: How to create a data module from data servers  (Read 2256 times)

Offline tfjurgen

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
How to create a data module from data servers
« on: 23 Feb 2016 09:39:29 am »
Hi guys,

I'm trying to create a data module from a data server that's created within the Cognos Analytics, but it gives me the message 'Results are empty' after I selected this data server, what I missed here?? Thnx

Offline bus_pass_man

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 218
  • Forum Citizenship: +28/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #1 on: 23 Feb 2016 10:44:23 am »
1.  Confirm that you have your JDBC drivers in the drivers directory.  If you don't you will need to add them there and then re-start the cognos service.
2.  Confirm that your data server definition is correct.   Test it in the dialog.  Also see if you can import metadata from it into FM or Cube Designer.

Offline tfjurgen

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #2 on: 23 Feb 2016 11:50:27 am »
Thank you bus_pass_man, I was able to see the content after I added JDBC drivers into the drivers directory.

Offline arjunBandi

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 7
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #3 on: 17 Mar 2016 08:21:51 am »
how to create jdbc drivrer for 11 cognos

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,278
  • Forum Citizenship: +561/-8
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #4 on: 22 Mar 2016 07:10:34 am »
how to create jdbc drivrer for 11 cognos

JDBC drivers are created by the vendor of the data source. You need to download the relevant driver file(s) and put them into the Drivers folder in your Cognos Analytics instance.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline prikala

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 111
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #5 on: 01 Apr 2016 06:32:59 am »
I wonder what are the limitations for datasources to be used to create data modules?

I am getting "Results are empty" after selecting Data server.
Database is Oracle, jdbc6.jar is located at \Drivers and I can use the connection in FM (C11 version) to create DQM packages so everything should be ok.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,278
  • Forum Citizenship: +561/-8
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #6 on: 01 Apr 2016 06:36:16 am »
I wonder what are the limitations for datasources to be used to create data modules?

I am getting "Results are empty" after selecting Data server.
Database is Oracle, jdbc6.jar is located at \Drivers and I can use the connection in FM (C11 version) to create DQM packages so everything should be ok.

Did you check the option in the data source dialog to enable the data source for web-based modelling?

MF.
Meep!

Offline prikala

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 111
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #7 on: 01 Apr 2016 06:54:27 am »
Yes, setting that option was first thing  I did (the connection will not show as Data server without it).

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,278
  • Forum Citizenship: +561/-8
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #8 on: 01 Apr 2016 07:34:40 am »
Yes, setting that option was first thing  I did (the connection will not show as Data server without it).

Not sure what else to suggest in that case. If you can create DQM packages in FM, that proves the JDBC driver works. I'd log it with IBM support I think.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline prikala

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 111
  • Forum Citizenship: +4/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #9 on: 04 Apr 2016 12:10:44 am »
Found the reason! My own laziness, I think!
I had used ojdbc6.jar from ancient Oracle 11.2 distribution, dated from 2011.
I replaced it with ojdbc7.jar downloaded directly from Oracle 12.1 download page and now I can see my schemas in db.

Either that or some aggressive caching: I must confess I initially tried to create data module before I placed the odjbc6.jar in the right place. I rebooted the server a few times but that did not help. Waiting over the weekend might have done the trick but replacing the driver was first thing I did this morning...

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,278
  • Forum Citizenship: +561/-8
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #10 on: 04 Apr 2016 06:32:50 am »
Found the reason! My own laziness, I think!
I had used ojdbc6.jar from ancient Oracle 11.2 distribution, dated from 2011.
I replaced it with ojdbc7.jar downloaded directly from Oracle 12.1 download page and now I can see my schemas in db.

Either that or some aggressive caching: I must confess I initially tried to create data module before I placed the odjbc6.jar in the right place. I rebooted the server a few times but that did not help. Waiting over the weekend might have done the trick but replacing the driver was first thing I did this morning...

Good find! Glad you sorted it!

MF.
Meep!

Offline bswenson

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 4
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How to create a data module from data servers
« Reply #11 on: 16 Sep 2016 09:24:50 am »
We are just starting with Cognos.  We are looking for how to set the option in the data source dialog to enable the data source for web-based modelling?

Thanks

Found it!   I knew as soon I asked it would appear.  ::)
« Last Edit: 16 Sep 2016 10:54:23 am by bswenson »

 


           
Twittear