Author Topic: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error  (Read 5646 times)

Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Hi,

I have installed the latest release of Cognos Analytics that I could find - 11.0.3. Whenever I try create a data module using an oracle connection as the data source, I get the following error:

MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas

The connection is configured for JDBC and connects successfully. I have tried all the different versions of the jdbc drivers I could find, but all end up with the same result. I don't have the same problem when connecting to a SQL Server source. It is a 64 bit environment. Please can someone assist?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,796
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #1 on: 04 Aug 2016 04:37:41 am »
Hi,

I have installed the latest release of Cognos Analytics that I could find - 11.0.3. Whenever I try create a data module using an oracle connection as the data source, I get the following error:

MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas

The connection is configured for JDBC and connects successfully. I have tried all the different versions of the jdbc drivers I could find, but all end up with the same result. I don't have the same problem when connecting to a SQL Server source. It is a 64 bit environment. Please can someone assist?

Hi,

Have you made sure you copied the Oracle jar files to the Drivers folder? JDBCs go in here now, rather than in webapps\p2pd\lib

You could try the steps in the below technote to see if it resolves the problem:

http://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSEP7J_11.0.0/com.ibm.swg.ba.cognos.ig_rolap.doc/t_ig_rolap_oracle_connect.html

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #2 on: 04 Aug 2016 05:33:46 am »
Hi MFGF,

Thanks for the response, I followed those steps and still have the same problem.

Has anyone actually managed to get this to work? If so, would you mind sharing what drivers you used?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,796
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #3 on: 04 Aug 2016 06:37:42 am »
Hi MFGF,

Thanks for the response, I followed those steps and still have the same problem.

Has anyone actually managed to get this to work? If so, would you mind sharing what drivers you used?

I haven't tried Oracle, sorry. DB2 and SQL Server work fine for me, but that's no help to you :)

As a sanity check, what happens if you test your data source connection in the Administration console? Does the test work? If so, can you get FM to import data in a DQM framework model?

MF.
Meep!

Offline Murphy_Martin

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #4 on: 05 Aug 2016 10:11:47 am »
gbez, did you find a solution to your problem? I am experiencing the same error message.

Thanks,
Murphy

Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #5 on: 11 Aug 2016 12:43:15 am »
Hi,

Sorry I haven't been active for a while, I still haven't found a solution to this issue. Its getting a bit frustrating now, I need to demonstrate the dashboarding capability to a customer but at this point I cant get it to work at all...

I can test the data source without any issues, and it also works in FM. I am suspecting a driver issue, but I have tried all of them but to no avail. Any help from anyone would be appreciated, thanks in advance.


Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #6 on: 11 Aug 2016 01:57:24 am »
Sorry, correction. In FM, when running the metadata wizard and connecting to the Oracle data source I am getting the following error:

BMT-IMP-0002 Failed to execute metadata request. jdbcSQLExceptionCAF-WRN-2082 An error has occurred. Please contact your administrator. The complete error has been logged by CAF with SecureErrorID:2016-08-11-08:56:01.705-#1

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,796
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #7 on: 11 Aug 2016 02:48:30 am »
Sorry, correction. In FM, when running the metadata wizard and connecting to the Oracle data source I am getting the following error:

BMT-IMP-0002 Failed to execute metadata request. jdbcSQLExceptionCAF-WRN-2082 An error has occurred. Please contact your administrator. The complete error has been logged by CAF with SecureErrorID:2016-08-11-08:56:01.705-#1

Hmmm. Interesting. It's not just a Data Modules issue then. Can you take a look in cogserver.log to see what error message was actually logged?

Also see if this helps:

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21624136

MF.
Meep!

Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #8 on: 11 Aug 2016 03:04:24 am »
That didn't help unfortunately. I cant find much in the logs, see attached.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,796
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #9 on: 11 Aug 2016 04:26:58 am »
That didn't help unfortunately. I cant find much in the logs, see attached.

Yup - not much help there!

Let's recap for a moment. Are you sure you don't have multiple ojdbc<x>.jar files in the Drivers folder? You should only have one. If you have multiple, I think Cognos just uses the first one it finds, which is possibly the wrong one. What version of Oracle are you using? If it's 12cR1 you should be using ojdbc7.jar. If it's 11gR2 you should be using ojdbc6.jar. If it's neither of the above you're not going to be able to connect, as these are the only two supported versions for use with Cognos Analytics (CA uses JRE8 and earlier versions of Oracle don't have a JDBC driver that can be used with JRE8).

Can you check the above and let us know?

Cheers!

Mark.
Meep!

Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #10 on: 11 Aug 2016 04:44:41 am »
We are using 11gR2 and I have the ojdbc6 driver in the drivers folder. We have both the 32 and 64 bit version of Oracle installed. The strange thing is if I open one of our old FM projects, and run the metadata wizard using the Oracle connection, it retrieves the schemas successfully. Its only if I create a new project from scratch, and then run the metadata wizard on that same Oracle connection that I get the error mentioned above. Its almost like they seem to be using different drivers for some reason?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,796
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #11 on: 11 Aug 2016 05:27:53 am »
We are using 11gR2 and I have the ojdbc6 driver in the drivers folder. We have both the 32 and 64 bit version of Oracle installed. The strange thing is if I open one of our old FM projects, and run the metadata wizard using the Oracle connection, it retrieves the schemas successfully. Its only if I create a new project from scratch, and then run the metadata wizard on that same Oracle connection that I get the error mentioned above. Its almost like they seem to be using different drivers for some reason?

In your old FM project, is it set to use CQM, I wonder? If you fire up the Publish Package wizard, do you see the option "Use Dynamic Query Mode" underneath the "Verify the package before publishing" checkbox?

MF.
Meep!

Offline gbez

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #12 on: 11 Aug 2016 07:17:04 am »
Hi,

I think I have found the error that is causing the problem. I reinstalled CA on my local, got it up and running and reproduced the problem. I can configure the jdbc connection and test it successfully. It is only when it is trying to retrieve the metadata for the connection that I get the problem. I found a more detailed error, as you can see in the attached log:

ORA-01882: timezone region not found

I was getting this error before when trying to configure a jdbc connection and fixed it by editing the xqe.config.xml file as per this thread:

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21641476

That sorted out the issue when configuring the jdbc connection, but I seem to be getting the same error now when CA tried to retrieve the metadata for the Oracle connection. I don't know if it uses a different driver when doing that operation? Or if there is somewhere else I need to set the timezone region, but I cant find anything on the web.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,796
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #13 on: 11 Aug 2016 07:44:23 am »
Hi,

I think I have found the error that is causing the problem. I reinstalled CA on my local, got it up and running and reproduced the problem. I can configure the jdbc connection and test it successfully. It is only when it is trying to retrieve the metadata for the connection that I get the problem. I found a more detailed error, as you can see in the attached log:

ORA-01882: timezone region not found

I was getting this error before when trying to configure a jdbc connection and fixed it by editing the xqe.config.xml file as per this thread:

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21641476

That sorted out the issue when configuring the jdbc connection, but I seem to be getting the same error now when CA tried to retrieve the metadata for the Oracle connection. I don't know if it uses a different driver when doing that operation? Or if there is somewhere else I need to set the timezone region, but I cant find anything on the web.

Hmmmm. We're well into uncharted waters here for me, I'm afraid. The technote you linked to says to edit xqe.config.xml (in the configuration folder), but in my copy of this file in Cognos Analytics it says on line 8:

<!--Do not modify this file! This file contains default settings. If you wish to modify these settings, please make a copy of this file and rename it "xqe.config.custom.xml" then make your changes to the new file.-->

Did you change xqe.config.xml or did you take heed of the warning and create xqe.config.custom.xml?

MF.
Meep!

Offline Murphy_Martin

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: MSR_GEN_0071 Internal error getting catalogs and schemas Error
« Reply #14 on: 11 Aug 2016 09:04:21 am »
Gbez,

I found the solution for me. I tried a ton of different things with the drivers (plus other things), but the problem was simply I wasn't logging in right. Weird, I know.

So when I connected to my DB2 data server via Cognos Analytics (Manage -> Data servers), I was using the second radio button 'Prompt for Username and Password'. I tested the connection and it succeeded, so I just pressed 'OK' and figured I was connected as I should be (it showed that I was connected to the DB Server and everything.)

Well, turns out, you really have to connect using the fourth radio button 'Use the following saved credentials' and then enter in your Username and Password for your DB.

I know this is sort of a dumb mistake, and it probably isn't the problem you're having, but I thought I'd let you know. I never thought to go back to step 1 (logging in) when everything seemed to have gone so smoothly at this step.

Hopefully that helps you,
Murphy

 


       
Twittear