Author Topic: FM V11 Install  (Read 3296 times)

Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
FM V11 Install
« on: 23 Aug 2016 04:55:15 pm »
I am trying to install framework manager 11. But I get a warning saying 'You are installing to the same location as previous installation. If you continue some files will be overwritten' .
Are we not supposed to install framework on the same server as Cognos 11 ?  Please help.

Offline bus_pass_man

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 239
  • Forum Citizenship: +30/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #1 on: 23 Aug 2016 06:52:52 pm »
FM is a 32 bit app.  The cognos server is 64 bit.  They share components. 

The error that happens when you try to start using stuff when there is this mix of 32 and 64 bit stuff is weird and not very informative.

If you did do it, your FM users would need access to the directories where the server is located (not necessarily a good idea ).

So don't do it.

You don't need to do it.   Install FM separately.   Come to think of it, don't install it on servers.  Install it locally and configure to the server.  Every once in a while I come across this situation where people are thinking of installing FM on a server and I don't understand why. 


Offline cognostechie

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 1,545
  • Forum Citizenship: +132/-7
    • Pervisol
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #2 on: 23 Aug 2016 07:35:10 pm »
I am trying to install framework manager 11. But I get a warning saying 'You are installing to the same location as previous installation. If you continue some files will be overwritten' .
Are we not supposed to install framework on the same server as Cognos 11 ?  Please help.

Check the location. If it is a location of an earlier version of FM then don't install there.

When you install 64-bit instance of a BI server, it will get installed in the 64-bit folders of windows. These are the folders you might find on your server.

Program Files                         - to be used for 64-bit installs (Ex: BI Server)
Program Files (x86)               - to be used for 32-bit installs (Ex: FM, Transformer etc)

Sometimes, people install one version of Cognos on one server and then try to install another version in the same folder. That's when it will give that warning.
Just create another folder within the same 'Program Files' for the new version.

It is a good idea to install FM on the server so that all modelers can go there via Remote Desktop and use the same FM model . That way, changes made by everybody remain in the same model. If you install it on individual desktop/laptops then everybody will have their own copy of the model and they will all make changes to it which then would never be integrated in one model and will cause a nightmare when deploying to Production. Most people do not care of checking in the model in a version control.

Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #3 on: 23 Aug 2016 07:49:23 pm »
I have Cognos 11 installed in Program Files folder. I am trying to install FM in Program Files(X86) but I still get the same warning. It will let me install it but I am not so sure if it will overwrite some files.


This is the warning I get:

"You are installing to the same location as a previous installation. If you continue some files will be overwritten. Do you want to install to this location? "

Offline sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #4 on: 23 Aug 2016 08:04:03 pm »
check your program files(x86) if there exist a cognos folder.
you might want to check this first.
to make sure you can specify a folder name while installing FM. It will tell you that the directory dows not exist and the installation will create the folder.

e.g C:\Program Files(x86)\cognos\FM

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,792
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #5 on: 25 Aug 2016 02:32:40 am »
I have Cognos 11 installed in Program Files folder. I am trying to install FM in Program Files(X86) but I still get the same warning. It will let me install it but I am not so sure if it will overwrite some files.


This is the warning I get:

"You are installing to the same location as a previous installation. If you continue some files will be overwritten. Do you want to install to this location? "

Have you previously installed FM on this machine? If so, what version is/was it? You shouldn't install Cognos 11 FM into the same folder as an existing install, so your choices are either:
a) Remove the existing install and delete the install folder it used before you try to install FM 11, or
b) Install FM 11 into a different folder alongside the original.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #6 on: 25 Aug 2016 10:58:49 am »
Thanks for your help. Installing it in a different folder worked. I removed the existing folder and had FM create it while installing.

I now have a another issue. I am getting this error when trying to access FM. Attached is the error I encountered when saving the FM configuration.

"BMT-MD-0003 CCL-BIT-0031 The requestor cannot connect to the provider at the URL http://URL:9300/p2pd/servlet/dispatch. Code: -2,113,929,210.
<errorDetail><errorCode>-2113929210</errorCode><errorMessage>CAM-CRP-0012 The cryptographic engine is not initialized.</errorMessage></errorDetail>"




Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #7 on: 25 Aug 2016 11:10:51 am »
My Cognos 11 install is ca_srv_win64_11.0.2.16042816 and the FM I downloaded is ca_model_win32_11.0.3.16062205 .
Do you think this might be the issue ? Where do I find 11.0.2 version of FM ? Do you know the part number ?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,792
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #8 on: 25 Aug 2016 11:58:28 am »
My Cognos 11 install is ca_srv_win64_11.0.2.16042816 and the FM I downloaded is ca_model_win32_11.0.3.16062205 .
Do you think this might be the issue ? Where do I find 11.0.2 version of FM ? Do you know the part number ?

Definitely an issue. You need both FM and your BI server to be the same version. The 11.0.2 download for FM is part of the main assembly for BI 11.0.2 - if you expand the assembly on the downloads page you will see it.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #9 on: 25 Aug 2016 03:35:43 pm »
I now installed Framework 11.0.2 version. But I am still getting the same error. Saving the configuration gives same warning as attached.

BMT-MD-0003 CCL-BIT-0031 The requestor cannot connect to the provider at the URL http://ServerIP:9300/p2pd/servlet/dispatch. Code: -2,113,929,210.
<errorDetail><errorCode>-2113929210</errorCode><errorMessage>CAM-CRP-0012 The cryptographic engine is not initialized.</errorMessage></errorDetail>

Offline sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 284
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #10 on: 25 Aug 2016 09:36:17 pm »
have you properly uninstalled version 11.03 before you installed 11.02?

Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #11 on: 25 Aug 2016 11:45:42 pm »
Yes I did. I completely uninstalled 11.0.3 restarted my computer and then installed 11.0.2.



Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,792
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #12 on: 26 Aug 2016 02:53:47 am »
I now installed Framework 11.0.2 version. But I am still getting the same error. Saving the configuration gives same warning as attached.

BMT-MD-0003 CCL-BIT-0031 The requestor cannot connect to the provider at the URL http://ServerIP:9300/p2pd/servlet/dispatch. Code: -2,113,929,210.
<errorDetail><errorCode>-2113929210</errorCode><errorMessage>CAM-CRP-0012 The cryptographic engine is not initialized.</errorMessage></errorDetail>

Hi,

Can you share with us the URIs you are using in the Environment page of your FM Cognos Configuration utility? What have you set the Gateway URI and the Dispatcher URI for External Applications to be? Are they correct when you compare them with the URIs in Cognos Configuration for your BI server install?

MF.
Meep!

Offline HDA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #13 on: 26 Aug 2016 11:47:53 am »
Please see attached.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,792
  • Forum Citizenship: +589/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: FM V11 Install
« Reply #14 on: 30 Aug 2016 07:23:58 am »
Please see attached.

I see you're using a web server gateway rather than the servlet gateway. I'm guessing the configuration of your web server might be the issue here. As a sanity check, try using the servlet gateway URI as your FM Gateway URI entry - ie http://10.1.1.25:9300/bi/v1/disp

If this fixes the issue, the problem is almost certainly with your web server configuration.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

 


       
Twittear