Author Topic: How do I create a picklist or dropdown style prompt?  (Read 137 times)

Offline pgorge12

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
How do I create a picklist or dropdown style prompt?
« on: 09 Jan 2017 07:01:36 pm »
Hey, so I finished training for Framework Manager Cognos 11 and I'm struggling to create a picklist style prompt. For example, I want to create a prompt where the user can select one or more choices from a list. In this case, Division (010, 020, etc.). I've tried doing

#promptmany('Select Division(s)', 'memberuniquename', '[namespace].[dimension].[division].[010]', '', [namespace].[dimension].[division]')#  along with other ways.

I know the 3rd parameter should be a default MUN and then you need the source of the members. I write this as a filter. I've also tried in the query subject definition [.....where DivisionCode in (#promptmany(...etc)] But every time I publish and try the prompt on Analytics, I get a prompt where you type in a value with a blank list next to it.

What am I doing wrong? Is there another step? Thanks
 

Offline New_Guy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Posts: 18
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How do I create a picklist or dropdown style prompt?
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jan 2017 09:13:00 am »
Hi pgorge12,
I might have not understood the issue right. But in my case I would create a slicer like set(hierarchy -> ?p_Division?), and then create a query with the same hierarchy and assign this query to the pick list prompt with the multi select 'yes'.

Check the link
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21343004

and let me know if the issue is resolved.

Good luck


Offline pgorge12

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How do I create a picklist or dropdown style prompt?
« Reply #2 on: 11 Jan 2017 08:38:41 am »
I was looking for something like this but with division codes in the list. Can it be done strictly through Framework or would this require report studio?

 


           
Twittear