Author Topic: Active report with check boxes  (Read 431 times)

Offline Sep2013

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 75
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-1
Active report with check boxes
« on: 19 Jun 2017 02:53:20 am »
Hi All,
I have a requirement where the user wishes to have multi select filters on an active report. as below:
Teams and Officers within the team.. SO the user may select team 1 and Team 2 and then only relevant officers will be shown from both teams where user can multi select officers.

I have added two data check box groups where team filters the officers available and then show relevant values in the chart.
However, it doesn't work as expected, I cant make multiple selections in two check boxes and see the chart change.

Any idea if this can be achieved, I am working with 10.1.1 version.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,290
  • Forum Citizenship: +621/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Active report with check boxes
« Reply #1 on: 20 Jun 2017 07:11:22 am »
Hi All,
I have a requirement where the user wishes to have multi select filters on an active report. as below:
Teams and Officers within the team.. SO the user may select team 1 and Team 2 and then only relevant officers will be shown from both teams where user can multi select officers.

I have added two data check box groups where team filters the officers available and then show relevant values in the chart.
However, it doesn't work as expected, I cant make multiple selections in two check boxes and see the chart change.

Any idea if this can be achieved, I am working with 10.1.1 version.

If you are using 10.1.1, you won't have visualizations available to you, just charts. There is no client-side rendering engine for charts (as there is for visualizations) so that means you need to pre-render them on the cards of a data deck. This prevents you from using multi-select controls. The solution is to move to a newer (and supported) version of Cognos and use visualizations instead of charts and data decks.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline Sep2013

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 75
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-1
Re: Active report with check boxes
« Reply #2 on: 20 Jun 2017 08:49:14 am »
Thank you MF.
i am working on version 10.2.1
dies it support Rave visualisations?
How to make them available tò use in cognos report studio

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,290
  • Forum Citizenship: +621/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Active report with check boxes
« Reply #3 on: 20 Jun 2017 09:39:33 am »
Thank you MF.
i am working on version 10.2.1
dies it support Rave visualisations?
How to make them available tò use in cognos report studio

Hi,

You said previously 10.1.1? If you are using 10.2.1, you should have visualizations available. They can be downloaded from the developerworks site

https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/community/groups/service/html/communityview?communityUuid=9685c9a6-3133-4823-85e8-f5f81268267a#fullpageWidgetId=W561990aafebc_4d8b_9af8_7c03c0081265&folder=fa9cc7b3-7307-4a15-abc0-352e43dafb1a

You can import them from the Library tab of the Administration console.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

 


       
Twittear