Author Topic: Converting from CQM to DQM...Validation Process Eventually Hangs  (Read 931 times)

Offline bozobozo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Hello Cognoise-
We are migrating from V10.2.2 to V11.  Our admins have instructed us to alter our existing models from CQM to DQM and republish the package.  The instruction is to   set the Type -> Interface property to JDBC for each data source and then change the Query Mode property of the project from Compatible to Dynamic.  I am fine with all this BUT when I change the Query Mode property, FM wants to Validate all the query subjects and this particular project has 400+ and the validation always seems to never finish (FM not responding).  Is there a way around this?  For example, can I change the Interface property to JDBC but keep the Query Mode property as Compatible but when I publish the package can I check "Enable Dynamic Query Mode" and this will work?  Or...thank you.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,889
  • Forum Citizenship: +597/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Hello Cognoise-
We are migrating from V10.2.2 to V11.  Our admins have instructed us to alter our existing models from CQM to DQM and republish the package.  The instruction is to   set the Type -> Interface property to JDBC for each data source and then change the Query Mode property of the project from Compatible to Dynamic.  I am fine with all this BUT when I change the Query Mode property, FM wants to Validate all the query subjects and this particular project has 400+ and the validation always seems to never finish (FM not responding).  Is there a way around this?  For example, can I change the Interface property to JDBC but keep the Query Mode property as Compatible but when I publish the package can I check "Enable Dynamic Query Mode" and this will work?  Or...thank you.

Hi,

In my experience, this could mean one of two things:

- The query service or FM don't have enough memory in which to validate every object at the same time
and / or
- There are things in your model that DQM doesn't like.

For the latter, take a look at the DQM logs to see what errors are being generated. CQM seems to allow SQL that is ambiguous but DQM is rather more picky. Look for logs messages about invalid SQL. Also, if you have parameters defined within query subjects, DQM needs them to have default values assigned.

Cheers!

MF.
 
Meep!

Offline bozobozo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 19
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Thank you.  But I am angling that it is more toward your first hunch...that FM is just getting overwhelmed/bogged down.  Since I am just trying to get the package published with DQM enabled, is the option I outlined at the end of my original post a valid choice?  I am just not clear on what is the difference of choosing DQM when I publish the package vs setting the Dynamic type at the project level. 

Offline aussieadam

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 15
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
our team had the same problem. Even though Framework Manager appears to stop working, we let it sit on someones computer for 6 hours and it eventually finished.

Offline briancole

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Posts: 28
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
For the latter, take a look at the DQM logs to see what errors are being generated.

Apologies for digging up this old thread, but I'm having issues with the framework freezing when converting to DQM, and unfortunately I know that it is that it is encountering issues with some of the query subjects, but unfortunately I don't know which one(s). Where are the DQM logs which you are referring to? I've had a look around the FM installation folder but none of the log files are updated during the DQM conversion.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Brian
Brian Cole
NHS

Offline Kiran P

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 77
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Hello Cognoise-
We are migrating from V10.2.2 to V11.  Our admins have instructed us to alter our existing models from CQM to DQM and republish the package.  The instruction is to   set the Type -> Interface property to JDBC for each data source and then change the Query Mode property of the project from Compatible to Dynamic.  I am fine with all this BUT when I change the Query Mode property, FM wants to Validate all the query subjects and this particular project has 400+ and the validation always seems to never finish (FM not responding).  Is there a way around this?  For example, can I change the Interface property to JDBC but keep the Query Mode property as Compatible but when I publish the package can I check "Enable Dynamic Query Mode" and this will work?  Or...thank you.
Hi

You can leave the data sources as is, ensure your data sources in cognos portal have JDBC connection configured and choose 'use dqm mode' while publishing the package. You can leave the project in CQM and publish DQM packages this way and they would work fine.

Thanks
Kiran

Sent from my ZUK Z2132 using Tapatalk


Offline Kiran P

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Posts: 77
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Apologies for digging up this old thread, but I'm having issues with the framework freezing when converting to DQM, and unfortunately I know that it is that it is encountering issues with some of the query subjects, but unfortunately I don't know which one(s). Where are the DQM logs which you are referring to? I've had a look around the FM installation folder but none of the log files are updated during the DQM conversion.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Brian
Hi Brian

You should be able to find the logs in cognos installation folder /logs/XQE folder.

Thanks
Kiran

Sent from my ZUK Z2132 using Tapatalk


 


       
Twittear