Author Topic: Combine CQM and DQM based packages in one Cognos Package  (Read 352 times)

Offline Cognos91

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
I have two FM models that hit the same database.
One is CQM based while the other is DQM based.  Each of these two FM models have their respective packages and reports.

Question - Is it feasible to create an export (such that I combine) containing both packages (CQM and DQM) based into one package?
Cognos Analytics 11.0.3 version and above allows for use of multiple packages, however caution may be needed to ensure that the users do not combine data from both packages in one query.
What are the pros and cons of combining two packages in one zip file?
Has anyone tried this?

Offline Cognos91

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Combine CQM and DQM based packages in one Cognos Package
« Reply #1 on: 14 Aug 2017 04:57:20 pm »
Correction: The actual requirement is to combine the CQM model and DQM model into one model and publish the packages (both CQM as well as DQM) as one.

My understanding is that the CQM model will need to be converted to DQM first. Once done, then the two DQM models will need to be merged.
With respect to merging the two models, is it recommended that the current DQM model be enhanced with adding the same set of tables/ cardinality the CQM model is using (since these are all coming from the same database)?


Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,864
  • Forum Citizenship: +597/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Combine CQM and DQM based packages in one Cognos Package
« Reply #2 on: 16 Aug 2017 04:32:12 am »
Correction: The actual requirement is to combine the CQM model and DQM model into one model and publish the packages (both CQM as well as DQM) as one.

My understanding is that the CQM model will need to be converted to DQM first. Once done, then the two DQM models will need to be merged.
With respect to merging the two models, is it recommended that the current DQM model be enhanced with adding the same set of tables/ cardinality the CQM model is using (since these are all coming from the same database)?

Hi,

You can't have a single package that is both CQM and DQM at the same time, so the approach of converting your CQM model to DQM, then merging these models into a single model is the right way to go. To merge the models you can create an empty "shell" model and add each of the two models as linked segments. You can then create a package containing everything, and publish it to a location on the network - this will create a new model containing everything included in the package.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline Cognos91

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Combine CQM and DQM based packages in one Cognos Package
« Reply #3 on: 24 Aug 2017 01:23:36 pm »
Thank you MF for your reply. It does look like the CQM model will need to be built from scratch since there seem to be a ton of other issues as well.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,864
  • Forum Citizenship: +597/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Combine CQM and DQM based packages in one Cognos Package
« Reply #4 on: 25 Aug 2017 03:35:27 am »
Thank you MF for your reply. It does look like the CQM model will need to be built from scratch since there seem to be a ton of other issues as well.

Converting a model from CQM to DQM can surface a whole raft of issues that exist in the model. CQM is far more "forgiving" and allows through syntax that ought never to have worked. When trying to convert models to DQM, the syntax and structures are rigorously checked, and these hidden issues often surface. I've seen ambiguous hard-coded SQL statements, stored procedures with no default values for the arguments, and a whole raft of other issues cause the DQM conversion to throw errors. The XQE logs are invaluable in this instance, and help you pinpoint the issues in the model so you can address them.

Re-building your model from scratch is a drastic step. Are you really sure you need to go to all that effort?

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline Cognos91

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Combine CQM and DQM based packages in one Cognos Package
« Reply #5 on: 28 Aug 2017 03:16:51 pm »
Yes, I'd agree it's a drastic step. but there are a lot of issues with the CQM model. Its not that the model recreation is not doable, it may take some time. In addition, based on the DQM model, we adhered to some basic guidelines, and standards, and thus, that is what the we are aiming at.

Thank you for your valuable inputs, as always.
« Last Edit: 28 Aug 2017 03:19:21 pm by Cognos91 »

 


       
Twittear