Author Topic: XQE-MD-0007 and XQE-PVD-0002 Error in FWM testing query  (Read 345 times)

Offline jriley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 27
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Hi,
We are converting model to DQM from CQM and noticing this error on testing queries across the board for one package.  The queries all error with the following: 

XQE-MD-0007 Unable to establish a metadata connection to data source ~~/package[@name='frameworkManagerWorkingArea']/model[@name='201710251112246124']:
XQE-PVD-0002 The provider type "relational (IF)" is not supported in Dynamic Query Mode. 

Data source is Informix database.  11.x I believe.  Using Informix Client SDK v3.50.

Some queries use conditional statements (If..Then..Else) but not all.  And still all queries error with this message, even ones that don't use an If expression. 

These same queries all work in CQM query mode.  Haven't found much by way of Google on these error codes.

Has anyone seen this or can point me in the right direction?
Thanks,
Joe

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,988
  • Forum Citizenship: +600/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: XQE-MD-0007 and XQE-PVD-0002 Error in FWM testing query
« Reply #1 on: 26 Oct 2017 02:45:53 am »
Hi,
We are converting model to DQM from CQM and noticing this error on testing queries across the board for one package.  The queries all error with the following: 

XQE-MD-0007 Unable to establish a metadata connection to data source ~~/package[@name='frameworkManagerWorkingArea']/model[@name='201710251112246124']:
XQE-PVD-0002 The provider type "relational (IF)" is not supported in Dynamic Query Mode. 

Data source is Informix database.  11.x I believe.  Using Informix Client SDK v3.50.

Some queries use conditional statements (If..Then..Else) but not all.  And still all queries error with this message, even ones that don't use an If expression. 

These same queries all work in CQM query mode.  Haven't found much by way of Google on these error codes.

Has anyone seen this or can point me in the right direction?
Thanks,
Joe

Hi,

If you look at the properties of the data source in FM, and expand the Type property, the error message tells me you will find the Interface property is set to be IF. This type is appropriate if you are using the old "IBM Informix Dynamic Server" connection type for your data source (in the Admin console), but this is a compatible (CQE) connection, and will not work in DQM. To connect to Informix in DQM, you need to have a data source with a type of JDBC in the Admin console, then on the next page you need to have selected the IBM Informix Dynamic Server sub-type to configure the JDBC connection.

What all this means is that back in FM, the Interface property should be set to JDBC rather than IF (because you're using a JDBC connection rather than the old native connection).

If you change the property value and test again, does this fix the problem?

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline jriley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2008
  • Posts: 27
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: XQE-MD-0007 and XQE-PVD-0002 Error in FWM testing query
« Reply #2 on: 26 Oct 2017 12:28:10 pm »
Thank you MFGF for the suggestion.  I will test this out and post the results. 

Offline the6campbells

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 80
  • Forum Citizenship: +5/-0
Re: XQE-MD-0007 and XQE-PVD-0002 Error in FWM testing query
« Reply #3 on: 26 Oct 2017 05:55:47 pm »
(1) Your Informix connections must be defined under the JDBC connection editor in Admin Portal
(2) You must a copy of the Informix JDBC driver in the <cognos>\drivers folder if you are using Cognos 11 (older releases would use <cognos>\webapps\p2pd\web-inf\lib
(3) The data source objects in you FM models must have the interface.type property set to JDBC
(4) Change the model setting to DQM
(5) Update your db-query subjects etc

Note: Informix made a substantial number of changes including SQL semantic changes that are available to you when you move to Informix 12.10.
Those changes can dramatically improve BI/reporting workloads from what was possible with older 11.x releases.

Note: Pre-11.7 IDS releases are not supported with DQM should you happen to be on 11.5.

 


       
Twittear