Author Topic: Script to automatically move report from one environment to another  (Read 471 times)

Offline therese1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 21
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Hi,

Would like to automate moving reports from test cognos to production cognos.

Process would be user puts report into a folder in test, this then triggers system to pick up report and move it to same folder in production cognos.

Any help with ideas or script for this would be greatly appreciated.

Offline dougp

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 233
  • Forum Citizenship: +14/-1
This message is in the wrong place.  Framework Manager would have nothing to do with this process.

The trigger would be contacting the Cognos Administrator.
The action would be a deployment export in one environment and a deployment import in another.

Offline therese1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 21
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
This message is in the wrong place.  Framework Manager would have nothing to do with this process.

The trigger would be contacting the Cognos Administrator.
The action would be a deployment export in one environment and a deployment import in another.
This is the issue the administrators don't know, not sure where to move this to?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline dougp

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 233
  • Forum Citizenship: +14/-1
Did you just say your Cognos Administrator doesn't know how to run a deployment export and import?

Offline therese1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 21
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
they don't know how to automate it.... yeah our administrators are not the best they don't even know what an ERD is. This is a 3rd party company we are working with.

I can automate using VBA moving from folders when user inputs pdfs to another folder, but I don't know the sql script for this.

Offline dougp

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 233
  • Forum Citizenship: +14/-1
If you don't need the checks and balances inherent in the manual process, it can be automated using the Cognos SDK.

Offline therese1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 21
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
If you don't need the checks and balances inherent in the manual process, it can be automated using the Cognos SDK.
Many thanks will check on this


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Redrichmond

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 22
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Use Jenkins. Its a nice tool.

https://jenkins.io/

Its free and a lot of big companies (banks and large orgs use it)... There is some Java/SDK configuring that needs doing so Jenkins can pick up the zip and move it to the other environement .... But basically you create a deployment ZIP and copy it to the Jenkins location in a folder like  1.0.0 , 1.0.1 this can then be run by an admin person by entering the parameter (e.g 1.0.0).. You can then create release documentation etc.

https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/library/d-continuous-delivery-framework-jenkins/index.html

Proper release management. 

Motio CI can also do it but that you have to pay for..

Offline aussieadam

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2017
  • Posts: 20
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
We do something similar with our Cognos SDK. Our CM Team doesn't like us using deployment archives and wanted us to keep all reports as separate xmls so it's easier to track changes.
We put all report xmls in a directory, we have .cfg files that are with the reports to push properties to reports that aren't held in the xml. Our Cognos Tech team controls when we deploy, usually on a schedule. But it's all possible with SDK.

 


       
Twittear