Author Topic: CA Standalone Installation  (Read 144 times)

Offline raj_aries81

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 151
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
CA Standalone Installation
« on: 12 Nov 2017 11:22:41 pm »
We would like to install CA on a standalone machine first for exploring the new features before we do an upgrade.

As there wont be intensive querying or any major user activity, pls let me know if I can install CA on a 2/4 core windows server with 8 GB RAM.

Any inputs are highly appreciated


Regards
Raj

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,864
  • Forum Citizenship: +597/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: CA Standalone Installation
« Reply #1 on: 13 Nov 2017 03:42:36 am »
We would like to install CA on a standalone machine first for exploring the new features before we do an upgrade.

As there wont be intensive querying or any major user activity, pls let me know if I can install CA on a 2/4 core windows server with 8 GB RAM.

Any inputs are highly appreciated


Regards
Raj

Hi,

It depends on the CPU as to how powerful 2 cores will be. I understand IBM take the de-facto standard for estimates as the E5-2637v4 CPU. If your CPU is of similar power, 2 cores should be ok I guess. I'd be concerned about the memory, though. 8Gb probably isn't enough. Can you stretch to 16?

MF.
Meep!

Offline raj_aries81

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 151
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: CA Standalone Installation
« Reply #2 on: 13 Nov 2017 04:31:51 am »
Hi,

It depends on the CPU as to how powerful 2 cores will be. I understand IBM take the de-facto standard for estimates as the E5-2637v4 CPU. If your CPU is of similar power, 2 cores should be ok I guess. I'd be concerned about the memory, though. 8Gb probably isn't enough. Can you stretch to 16?

MF.

Thanks for your reply Master  :)

sure, I will check if I can get a 16 GB memory. :-\

Thank you
Raj

 


       
Twittear