Author Topic: Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting  (Read 333 times)

Offline backhandx

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting
« on: 15 Dec 2017 09:15:25 am »
Hi all,

I am new in multidimentionnal development, I have a problem when creating a crosstab in a report. This is my problem:

Let's assume I have a crosstab with years in the columns and Quantity in the fact cell. In the line, I have a member from a hierarchy A. below I have another
member from the hierarchy B knowing that these two hierarchies are from the same dimension. When executing the report, I don't get any data. but if
I keep just 1 member in the line I get crosstab whith data.

So, my question is how can I manage to have data keeping the two members in the crosstab line?

thanks for your help.



Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,988
  • Forum Citizenship: +600/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting
« Reply #1 on: 15 Dec 2017 09:47:21 am »
Hi all,

I am new in multidimentionnal development, I have a problem when creating a crosstab in a report. This is my problem:

Let's assume I have a crosstab with years in the columns and Quantity in the fact cell. In the line, I have a member from a hierarchy A. below I have another
member from the hierarchy B knowing that these two hierarchies are from the same dimension. When executing the report, I don't get any data. but if
I keep just 1 member in the line I get crosstab whith data.

So, my question is how can I manage to have data keeping the two members in the crosstab line?

thanks for your help.

Hi,

Can you clarify what you mean by "I have a member from a hierarchy A. below I have another member from the hierarchy B knowing that these two hierarchies are from the same dimension"? Do you mean they are stacked vertically in the rows edge of the crosstab, or do you mean they are nested alongside each other in the same row?

If the former, it should work fine. If the latter, you may not get a result if the members are unrelated.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline backhandx

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting
« Reply #2 on: 15 Dec 2017 09:51:07 am »
Hi,

Can you clarify what you mean by "I have a member from a hierarchy A. below I have another member from the hierarchy B knowing that these two hierarchies are from the same dimension"? Do you mean they are stacked vertically in the rows edge of the crosstab, or do you mean they are nested alongside each other in the same row?

If the former, it should work fine. If the latter, you may not get a result if the members are unrelated.

Cheers!

MF.

The 2 members are stacked vertically. It is strange because I get no data. could you see what is the problem?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 9,988
  • Forum Citizenship: +600/-9
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting
« Reply #3 on: 18 Dec 2017 05:05:42 am »
The 2 members are stacked vertically. It is strange because I get no data. could you see what is the problem?

Hi,

No - this ought to work just fine. Can you replicate what you are seeing using one of the sample packages?

MF.
Meep!

Offline backhandx

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2016
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting
« Reply #4 on: 19 Dec 2017 09:05:21 am »
Hi,

No - this ought to work just fine. Can you replicate what you are seeing using one of the sample packages?

MF.

It works fine in the samples but I don't have any idea why it doesn't work in my package. Do you know if I could use some DMR function to stack these two members in the same crosstab?

Thanks for you reply!



Offline prasadloke

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Crosstab in dimentionnal reporting
« Reply #5 on: 27 Dec 2017 02:03:08 pm »
It works fine in the samples but I don't have any idea why it doesn't work in my package. Do you know if I could use some DMR function to stack these two members in the same crosstab?

Thanks for you reply!

Take a blank Data item and use tuple(a,b)

A And b represents member here


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 


       
Twittear