Author Topic: TI process to delete TI processes ?  (Read 443 times)

Offline donap

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 65
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
TI process to delete TI processes ?
« on: 06 Feb 2018 04:06:48 pm »
OK  -
We were wondering if it is possible to write a TI process that can delete TI processes using a string and wildcard.
Scenario -
TM1 DEV environment  - All developers work on objects - TI processes, Dimensions, etc, PREFIX with their own initials -   for Promotion to Production, a TI process to build a dimension for our Fiscal Calendar as "Create_Fiscal_Period_Dim".
If I was working on something changing that dimension, it would be a copied to a TI process "DP_Create_Fiscal_Period_Dim"  (DP are my initials.)
Developer 2 might be working on something new - and his process all start with MG - as in "MG_Create_New_Dimension_xx"
After promotion of the environment to PROD, we realize some of the test objects got moved.
SO - We want to have in place a T process that can be run that will delete ALL TI processes that are named "MG_" 
Thanks

Offline AJAYC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2012
  • Posts: 66
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: TI process to delete TI processes ?
« Reply #1 on: 07 Feb 2018 04:24:19 am »
Hi Donap

Personally I don't like developing in this way....for this reason that you are now experiencing.

However, that said, one of the simplest ways to get rid of the unwanted processes, would be to create a small .bat file or command line and reference it in a TI using the "ExecuteCommand" function.

This would delete the TI on the server itself, but would require you to restart the service to recognise the change.

Alternatively, since each TI process is an element within the "}Processes" dimension, you could create a subset which is driven by a parameter referencing the initials of the developer, then once you have a subset of the processes, you could delete them using the "DimensionElementDelete('}Processes', "the TI processes in your subset")" function.

HTH
Ajay

Offline donap

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 65
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: TI process to delete TI processes ?
« Reply #2 on: 07 Feb 2018 06:28:34 am »
Thank you !

 


       
Twittear