Author Topic: Drag and Drop in Query Studio  (Read 2503 times)

Offline cognosrebel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 20
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« on: 21 Dec 2005 04:22:56 pm »
Drag and Drop functionality in Query Studio

I am not able to drag and drop Query items to a list or crosstab report. Only way to insert is by clicking on the insert button, which is really inconvient since I have no control over where I place these items.

I tried another server  and it is working fine there. 

When I contacted my system admin, he told even he cannot drag and drop.

Can Someone Help me.

Thanks

Offline ReportNet Addict

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 946
  • Forum Citizenship: +65/-41
  • Creator of the Impact Suite
    • The Impact Suite
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #1 on: 21 Dec 2005 04:51:14 pm »
What explorer version? Did it work before?

Offline cognosrebel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 20
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #2 on: 21 Dec 2005 05:06:20 pm »
IE 6.0

I am able to use Drag and Drop in another server using same IE 6.0.

Offline Mr Lee

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 171
  • Forum Citizenship: +13/-1
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #3 on: 21 Dec 2005 11:45:06 pm »
I'd compare the IE security settings between the two....

Offline ReportNet Addict

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 946
  • Forum Citizenship: +65/-41
  • Creator of the Impact Suite
    • The Impact Suite
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #4 on: 22 Dec 2005 06:22:16 am »
Yep.. That's what I think too..

Offline Draoued

  • Global Moderator
  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 96
  • Forum Citizenship: +12/-0
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #5 on: 22 Dec 2005 07:40:35 am »
Some clarifications needed:
1 internet explorer
2 reportnet servers

Depending in which Reportnet server you are using Query Studio you can not drag and drop.
Then it can not be related to the Internet Explorer settings, unless the servers are not in the same domain ( Internet, Intranet , local securities).


If you have several Internet Explorer , then I will check the Microsoft update , I remenber that a IE security patch was disabling the drag and drop in PPES some time ago.

Offline cognosrebel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 20
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #6 on: 22 Dec 2005 01:32:00 pm »
I think it is not an issue with IE because I have access to different Reportnet Server and Drag & Drop is working in one and not in the second.

I used the same IE for both from my laptop.

If it is a server issue What can it be?

Thanks

Offline ole115

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2005
  • Posts: 8
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #7 on: 10 Jan 2006 10:22:05 am »
I had the same problem before in Query Studio, and I had to add the site URL to a list of Trusted Sites in IE Tools -> Internet Options -> Security. You need to add https://servername and that should work. One of your servers maybe already in there, that's why it works with one, and not another.

Offline Boris-A

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2005
  • Posts: 43
  • Forum Citizenship: +2/-0
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #8 on: 10 Jan 2006 05:31:07 pm »
Precisely.  It has to be the IE settings.

I saw the same kind of behaviour at one of my customer's site where they had insane security policies.  These policies made it impossible for the developers to "copy-paste" or "cut-paste" objects in report Studio... can you imagine living without these.!!???  They actually developed like that for over 2 years... that was before I got there.. then I made add the server to their list of "trusted" sites and now they can..!!

Tough tough  world out there
________________
Boris

Offline cognosrebel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 20
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Drag and Drop in Query Studio
« Reply #9 on: 26 Jan 2006 12:19:00 pm »
Thanks guys!

It worked.

 



         
Twittear