Author Topic: Cannot get past login screen when using http://servername/cognos8  (Read 16641 times)

Offline rocket

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
We have a Cognos 8.4.1 environment with the core BI products installed.  When I navigate to http://localhost/cognos8 on the server, I can log in without any issues.  when I navigate to http://servername/cognos8, each time I enter my login information, it loops back to the same login screen.

http://servername/cognos8/cgi-bin/cognosisapi.dll?b_action=xts.run&m=portal/welcome/welcome.xts

Has anyone seen this before?


Offline rocket

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
I tried that.  I set the domain to machine name and restarted Cognos.  No luck.  I then set it to the domain that the machine is on.  Again, no luck.  When I set the domain, localhost/cognos8 doesn't work. 

It seems like a cookie issue, as I can go to localhost/cognos8 when the domain is blank and get in no problem.


Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,872
  • Forum Citizenship: +267/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
What happens if you try logging in with:

http://servername/cognos8/cgi-bin/cognosisapi.dll?b_action=xts.run&m=portal/welcome/welcome.xts
&CAMUsername=user&CAMPassword=123456

In theory that should bypass the login screen altogether.

Does it only happen on the local machine, or are you unable to login with a remote machine?

Did you clear your cookies and all offline files? reboot? (obvious I know but it needs mentioned since everyone forgets these things)

Offline rocket

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
it happens on both the local machine and on a remote machine. 

I was able to successfully log in using http://servername/cognos8/cgi-bin/cognosisapi.dll?b_action=xts.run&m=portal/welcome/welcome.xts
&CAMUsername=user&CAMPassword=123456 as you suggested.

Thoughts?

Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,872
  • Forum Citizenship: +267/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
No thoughts yet. If would have been easier to figure out if didn't work. Now it's just plain annoying.

I think you're right that it's a cookie issue. Passing credentials through the URL doesn't save a cookie.

My immediate ideas turn to the global configuration, as in Tupac's, but if you said you already tried that we need to look elsewhere.

I'll need to sleep on it. In the meantime, try a different browser. If it works with a different browser than your original browser isn't accepting the cookies. If it doesn't work it's probably a problem with Cognos itself.

Offline rocket

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Well, the good news is that it works just fine in Firefox.  Internet Explorer can't get past the login screen.  Any ideas?

Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,872
  • Forum Citizenship: +267/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
It works with Firefox? I'll just take this opportunity to point out that 8.4.1 works extremely well with Firefox now...

It sounds more and more like a problem with IE. This is a little out of my realm of experience. The only thing that I can think of suggesting is to add servername to your trusted sites and playing with the settings.

Did your IT dept make any company wide changes recently?

Offline SomeClown

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2007
  • Posts: 381
  • Forum Citizenship: +20/-0
If IE8, try setting the site in the Compatibility section (there's a button up there somewhere).  Sometimes this works.

Run a tracert against the server name - does it look like it might be passing through a firewall somewhere?

Offline rocket

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
I tried adding the server to trusted sites.  Still no luck.  I am using IE 7 because IE 8 still is a bit buggy with Cognos.

tracert returned in 1 hop.  I probably should mention that I'm trying this all from the browser on the server itself.  Same results, however, from any other browser on another machine.

Offline rocket

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: Cannot get past login screen when using http://servername/cognos8
« Reply #10 on: 15 Jul 2010 09:05:16 pm »
SOLVED!

The problem was that the machine name has a "_" in it.  I found article http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/aspnet/33829056/iisie-7-losing-cookies-u.aspx That explains it. 

I was able to go into the C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file and add an entry for the IP Address and a logical name "Production" and it now works.  I go to http://production/cognos8.

Thanks all for the help!

Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,872
  • Forum Citizenship: +267/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
Re: Cannot get past login screen when using http://servername/cognos8
« Reply #11 on: 16 Jul 2010 11:37:36 am »
Thanks for sharing the solution, I doubt I would have ever figure it out.

Offline Chopin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Posts: 7
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cannot get past login screen when using http://servername/cognos8
« Reply #12 on: 19 Jun 2015 03:27:47 am »
Hi rocket,

The page http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/aspnet/33829056/iisie-7-losing-cookies-u.aspx disappeared.
do you have ever make any note regarding this except for below info?

Thanks,
Chopin

SOLVED!

The problem was that the machine name has a "_" in it.  I found article http://www.eggheadcafe.com/software/aspnet/33829056/iisie-7-losing-cookies-u.aspx That explains it. 

I was able to go into the C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file and add an entry for the IP Address and a logical name "Production" and it now works.  I go to http://production/cognos8.

Thanks all for the help!