Author Topic: drill through from cognos powerplay transformer cube to cognos 8 reports  (Read 7923 times)

Offline anilkumar

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 132
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-6
Hi

Drill through from cognos powerplay transformer cube to cognos 8 reports

Please send how to do  drill through  from transformer to cognos reports  process.

or else any links. i need to do any configuration please let meknow

Advance Thanks.

Regards
Anil K.Marri

Offline AussiePete2011

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2011
  • Posts: 311
  • Forum Citizenship: +19/-0
Hi Anil

Here are some ideas
There are two methods
one uses a drill through definition within the Transformer Model by defining a crr file
http://www.brightstarpartners.com/documents/Drill_Through_to_CRN.pdf
Steps
1. In PowerPlay Transformer, open the model you want.
2. In the PowerCubes window, right-click the cube you will be using for drill through and click
Properties.
3. In the Output tab, click the Browse button and save the cube in the location you want.
Save the cube in another location to keep the original cube unchanged.
Tip: You can also change the name of the cube.
4. In the Drill Through tab, select the Allow Drill Through for This PowerCube check box.
5. Click Add.
6. Click the Files of All Types box and click All files (*.*).
7. In the File Name box, type <name of target report>.crr.
The name of the target report you create in Report Studio must be identical to the name you
type here.

the other is as per the link below
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/c8bi/v8r4m0/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.swg.im.cognos.ug_cra.8.4.1.doc/ug_cra_i_setting_up_drill_through_access.html

Hope this helps
Cheers
Peter B

Offline anilkumar

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2009
  • Posts: 132
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-6
Hi Peter


Thank u very much for helping , here iam using COGNOS TRANSFORMER 8.3 V

is it possible to do with the same steps, bcz this is first time doing drill through

from transformer to reports


Regards

Anil K.marri

Offline AussiePete2011

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2011
  • Posts: 311
  • Forum Citizenship: +19/-0
Hi Anil,

Yeap the same steps for creating a drill through using crr files can be used for any version of Transformer and would be the recommended selection in this case.  Just remember that the crr file is virtual in Transformer as the name of the crr used will need to correspond with the drill through report created by Report Studio.

The other steps are valid for creating an OLAP to Relational drill through and could be of relevance as you progress down this path.

Hope this helps
Cheers
Peter B

Offline vimalmsm

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2007
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Hi ,

I have followed the same steps , but its not working. I am getting an error "There are no drill through targets available. Verify your selection or confirm that drill through is available at this level. "

Please advise , is there anything am missing in powerplay enterprise server administration.

Also if you have step by step guide please share

Many Thanks,
Vimal

 


       
Twittear