Author Topic: SQl Query in Framework Manager  (Read 4211 times)

Offline a.info

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2012
  • Posts: 21
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-1
SQl Query in Framework Manager
« on: 07 Nov 2012 04:41:36 am »
Hello,

I created a SQL query I want to use in as data source in Framework Manager.
Is it possible and how?

Thank you in advance

Offline wyconian

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 360
  • Forum Citizenship: +26/-0
Re: SQl Query in Framework Manager
« Reply #1 on: 07 Nov 2012 08:21:21 am »
Hi

When you create a query subject choose Data Source (tabkes and columns) and paste your SQL query into the Query Subject Definition window.

Good luck :-)

Offline blom0344

  • Teamleader data processing
  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2007
  • Posts: 2,410
  • Forum Citizenship: +103/-2
  • have to let the first nerd go..
    • MRDM
Re: SQl Query in Framework Manager
« Reply #2 on: 07 Nov 2012 10:10:52 am »
Hello,

I created a SQL query I want to use in as data source in Framework Manager.
Is it possible and how?

Thank you in advance

If you check with options you will find that you can use 3 types of queries:

Cognos
Native
Passthrough

If you can, define a Cognos query subject using existing datasources. Cognos sql also allows for using report parameters for use as query filters. (Which can be VERY helpful is some cases)
Native allows using the full set of supported database functions. The cognos set is quite extensive, but not that well documented within SQL.
Passthrough is the one to skip , there is no parsing before sending it to the DB
Oracle9i/11g,DB2/AS400/Busobj 6.5/Powercenter7/Cognos8/10 /
SSIS 2005 / SQL SERVER 2008 /SDDM 3.3   /   Pentaho 4.4.0 Data Integrator / SSAS 2008 / PostgreSQL 9

 


       
Twittear