Author Topic: Report Studio Search Function  (Read 2068 times)

Offline Ian Leslie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Report Studio Search Function
« on: 29 Jul 2015 05:32:49 am »
Hi,

When doing a search using the Member Search with 'Contains any of these keywords' and 'Case Insensitive' and 'search all descendants listed' selected I enter a known keyword, in this instance 'weatherproof' and the results returned are the elements that match but not the level 1 description needed.

Any ideas as to why this might be happening.

Cheers,
Ian

Offline bdbits

  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1,799
  • Forum Citizenship: +105/-0
Re: Report Studio Search Function
« Reply #1 on: 29 Jul 2015 09:51:00 am »
First thing to check - view the result set from the query behind the prompt and see if in fact that value is in any of the rows.

If it is dimensional, is it a cube and are there any known facts associated with that dimensional member? If not, it might be getting dropped from the cube.

Offline Ian Leslie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Report Studio Search Function
« Reply #2 on: 30 Jul 2015 04:03:00 am »
hi bdbits,

Thanks for the reply, not sure I'm understanding what your saying, I'm not using a prompt to search, it's when I'm using the search option by right clicking on the element or hierarchy or when there are more than 50 members and you get the search option to look for more members.

Regards,
Ian

Offline bdbits

  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1,799
  • Forum Citizenship: +105/-0
Re: Report Studio Search Function
« Reply #3 on: 30 Jul 2015 04:03:46 pm »
I was a little off, but the idea of looking at the underlying data still applies. Depending on how the data was modeled and the tool in use (e.g. Transformer, Dynamic cubes, etc), members can get excluded from a level especially if there are no associated facts. Since this appears to be a dimensional data source, it might be easiest to ask whoever created the package for you to validate that the desired member(s) have associated facts.

Otherwise, if it is not a data issue, I am not sure. Searching as you described definitely works here (10.2.1.1 FP4).

Offline Ian Leslie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Posts: 17
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Report Studio Search Function
« Reply #4 on: 04 Aug 2015 05:43:57 am »
Hi,

I've now raised it with IBM support who have confirmed it's a product defect, subject to an APAR.

Thanks

Ian

 


       
Twittear