Author Topic: Cube Designer - Change Source Data  (Read 1702 times)

Offline Northern_Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 64
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Cube Designer - Change Source Data
« on: 25 Feb 2016 05:56:17 am »
I'm hoping this is a really quick answer for someone...

I have developed a cube in and used a Content Manager Datasource entitled 'DEV' for example.

If I want to change my cube to now point to a Datasource called 'PROD', how can I do it?
I appreciate I add in the new source via 'Get Metadata Source' but how I can remove the old one and ensure all dimensions and facts are referencing the new one?

Thanks

Offline bus_pass_man

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: May 2008
  • Posts: 261
  • Forum Citizenship: +31/-0
Re: Cube Designer - Change Source Data
« Reply #1 on: 25 Feb 2016 06:42:43 am »
Edit the data source connection information in the model.  There's 4 properties.  Edit the content manager data source connection, catalog, and schema properties to match your data source.

Choose refresh metadata from the context menu. The new data source metadata should get imported.   If you save the reopen the model the old metadata should no longer show up in the metadata tree.

Section 5.9 of the Dynamic cube redbook -- downloadable for free!-- has a picture if you need one.

Offline Northern_Monkey

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 64
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cube Designer - Change Source Data
« Reply #2 on: 25 Feb 2016 07:44:08 am »
 :) I have seen it and used it a hundred times in the past but had a complete mind blank this morning! Thank you!
And sorry for asking such a basic question.

 


       
Twittear