Author Topic: Error QE-DEF-0285 Testing Datasource Connection through Administration Console.  (Read 6943 times)

Offline awais

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
  • -
I have added the data source as advised by the tutorial provided by the IBM on the link:
https://www.ibm.com/communities/analytics/cognos-analytics-blog/video-how-to-add-a-data-server-to-connect-to-an-ibm-db2-database/

The testing while adding the data source goes successfully. But when I go to the Administration Console and test the data source I get the following Error: "QE-DEF-0285 The logon failed." I have attached the Error screenshots with teh email. I have attached the detail in the screenshot.


In COGNOS 10.2.2 cataloguing of the remote data source is required, do I have to perform the cataloguing of the DB2 Databases on the COGNOS Server? But it is not defined in the tutorial presented by the IBM.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,348
  • Forum Citizenship: +665/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
I have added the data source as advised by the tutorial provided by the IBM on the link:
https://www.ibm.com/communities/analytics/cognos-analytics-blog/video-how-to-add-a-data-server-to-connect-to-an-ibm-db2-database/

The testing while adding the data source goes successfully. But when I go to the Administration Console and test the data source I get the following Error: "QE-DEF-0285 The logon failed." I have attached the Error screenshots with teh email. I have attached the detail in the screenshot.


In COGNOS 10.2.2 cataloguing of the remote data source is required, do I have to perform the cataloguing of the DB2 Databases on the COGNOS Server? But it is not defined in the tutorial presented by the IBM.

Hi,

For DB2 there are two methods of connecting - using the DB2 client libraries (Compatible Query Engine) or using JDBC (Dynamic Query Mode). When you set up a data server connection as per the link, you are setting up just the JDBC connection. If you go to the Admin Console and try to test the connection using the client libraries, it will fail as that has not been defined.

Is this what you are seeing? If so, is there any reason you need to use the old connection type?

MF.
Meep!

Offline awais

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
  • -
After adding the data source as advised in the link I get the following error while running reports:

"QE-DEF-0325 The logon failed for the following reason:RQP-DEF-0068 Unable to connect to at least one database during a multi-database attach to 1 database(s) in:
 ISAMESSO
UDA-SQL-0569 Unable to load the driver manager library ( db2cli.dll ).UDA-SQL-0571 The operating system returned an error message ( The specified module could not be found.
 ).RSV-SRV-0042
"

Screenshot of error is attached is also attached.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,348
  • Forum Citizenship: +665/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
After adding the data source as advised in the link I get the following error while running reports:

"QE-DEF-0325 The logon failed for the following reason:RQP-DEF-0068 Unable to connect to at least one database during a multi-database attach to 1 database(s) in:
 ISAMESSO
UDA-SQL-0569 Unable to load the driver manager library ( db2cli.dll ).UDA-SQL-0571 The operating system returned an error message ( The specified module could not be found.
 ).RSV-SRV-0042
"

Screenshot of error is attached is also attached.

Hi,

This error is coming from UDA, which is the old Compatible Query engine. As above, the data source you set up is Dynamic Query, not Compatible Query - you need to publish a package in Dynamic Query Mode to use this.

"Unable to load the driver manager library ( db2cli.dll )" tells me you don't have the DB2 client libraries installed on your Cognos server, so any DB2 native client connections will not work unless you install them.

Cheers!

MF.

Meep!

Offline Cinu8

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2007
  • Posts: 83
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Hello,

 Please check your database client  version. It is a version issue.

Offline the6campbells

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 108
  • Forum Citizenship: +6/-1
When Cognos 10.1.1 was released, it introduced a new Java based query engine called Dynamic Query (DQM).

The previous query technology was C++ based and thereafter referred to a Compatible Query in the documentation (CQM).

Connections to data sources from CQM require the appropriate 3rd party database client libraries (i.e ORACLE OCI, Informix-Connect, Db2 Data Server client) to be present on the path used by the operating system to load dynamic libraries. Should you attempt to use a connection (test, run report) etc, the machines where that activity occurs must have those database clients installed/configured. Not doing so will result in errors from the operating system re being unable locate libraries etc.

Connections from DQM in many cases require a JDBC driver where virtually all would be type-4 drivers that have no dynamic library dependencies. Should you not have placed copies of the JDBC driver JAR files in <cognos>\drivers you will receive an error from the Java Run Time Environment (JRE) indicating that it could not load the Java class that implements the JDBC driver for the applicable vendor.

The video you referenced is showing how to define connections which are JDBC based.

When Cognos 10.1.1 was released, it provided a connection editor for five products (Db2, Teradata, ORACLE, SQL Server and Netezza) where you could define the connection information for either CQM, DQM or both. When you test those connections (i.e in the original admin portal, you will see that unless specified it will attempt to test both the CQM and DQM connections. As of 10.2.0, all other data sources supported via JDBC did not use the 'dual tabbed' connection UI and instead used the JDBC connection editor for DQM.

Many data sources have been added since 10.2.x where those products are only integrated and supported with DQM (i.e Amazon Redshift, Cloudera Impala, Google BigQuery etc).

Given you mentioned Db2 specifically, connections using the Db2 editor require the IBM JCC driver when using DQM.  IBM JCC would be used for connections to DB2 Z, DB2 Luw, BigSQL and the dashDB (renamed to Db2 Cloud etc) engines. Connections to Db2 iSeries would use the JT400 JDBC driver they provide for Db2 iSeries.


Offline awais

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
  • -
I have checked the version of my DB2 Server and client, both are same i.e 10.5.300.125.

I have pasted the Db2CLI executables and DLL files in the "C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\analytics\bin" and Drivers in C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\analytics\drivers  directory.

I have catalogued the database but Still, I am not able to successfully connect to the Datasource in CQM. What else can be missing?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,348
  • Forum Citizenship: +665/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
I have checked the version of my DB2 Server and client, both are same i.e 10.5.300.125.

I have pasted the Db2CLI executables and DLL files in the "C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\analytics\bin" and Drivers in C:\Program Files\ibm\cognos\analytics\drivers  directory.

I have catalogued the database but Still, I am not able to successfully connect to the Datasource in CQM. What else can be missing?

Hi,

You need to install the DB2 CLI on the Cognos Server - just copying in the executables isn't sufficient. They don't go in the Drivers folder - this is just for JDBC drivers.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline awais

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2017
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
  • -
Hello MFGF,

Thanks, Solved the problem.

Regards,
« Last Edit: 22 Mar 2018 01:41:44 am by awais »