Author Topic: IIS setup for CA11  (Read 170 times)

Online sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 398
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
IIS setup for CA11
« on: 24 Jul 2018 09:25:46 am »
So if I am not gonna use SSO, but still want to use IIS as webserver.
Do I still need to setup Application Request Routing?\
Can I just configure IIS as how it used to be in Cognos 10?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #1 on: 25 Jul 2018 06:18:14 am »
So if I am not gonna use SSO, but still want to use IIS as webserver.
Do I still need to setup Application Request Routing?\
Can I just configure IIS as how it used to be in Cognos 10?

Hi,

No. If you want to use IIS and the CA gateway, you will need to set up Application Request Routing. Reasons you might want to use IIS other than for Single Signon are:

If you have an external gateway outside your firewall
If your organisation does not permit use of ports other than standard web server ports for client/server communication
If you want to use IIS to perform load balancing of requests via web servers
If you have static web content that needs to be delivered via a web server
Possibly if you are integrating CA with SharePoint

Regardless of the reason for using IIS, you will need to use the new setup process involving Application Request Routing for Cognos Analytics.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Online sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 398
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #2 on: 25 Jul 2018 07:54:54 am »
So that's how it's gonna be.
When using IIS for CA, ARR is mandatory.
Got it.

Does this also mean that the previous configuration for IIS in cognos 10 wont work on CA?

Thank you very much as always MFGF!

 :)
« Last Edit: 25 Jul 2018 08:14:01 am by sdf »

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #3 on: 25 Jul 2018 10:03:11 am »
Does this also mean that the previous configuration for IIS in cognos 10 wont work on CA?

Hi,
That is correct - the Cognos 10 IIS configuration approach won't work for Cognos Analytics. You need to use the new CA IIS configuration approach to set up IIS for use with a Cognos Analytics gateway.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Online sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 398
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #4 on: 25 Jul 2018 01:34:35 pm »
following this guide for the IIS setup.

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSEP7J_11.0.0/com.ibm.swg.ba.cognos.inst_cr_winux.doc/t_gateway_iis.html

Is it safe to say that I can skip the steps that includes SSO.
In the steps those are :

Step 5
Step 6.e

Thanks MF!

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #5 on: 26 Jul 2018 02:27:44 am »
following this guide for the IIS setup.

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSEP7J_11.0.0/com.ibm.swg.ba.cognos.inst_cr_winux.doc/t_gateway_iis.html

Is it safe to say that I can skip the steps that includes SSO.
In the steps those are :

Step 5
Step 6.e

Thanks MF!

That looks correct to me. I don't use IIS though, so I can't give you first-hand advice. Take a look at some of the posts in this section where others have set up IIS and posted what they did. I'm guessing most people will be using it to get single-signon though.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Online sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 398
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #6 on: 26 Jul 2018 07:55:59 am »
Before I used to setup SSO so I just followed the guide with no problem.

But this time is different. I am working on a different setup where cognos is integrated to another system and witch is setup for multi tenants.

thanks MF!

Cheers!

Online sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 398
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: IIS setup for CA11
« Reply #7 on: 10 Aug 2018 01:35:09 pm »
Another question popped up.
The latest guide for configuring IIS (version 11.0.4 and up) :

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSEP7J_11.0.0/com.ibm.swg.ba.cognos.inst_cr_winux.doc/t_gateway_iis.html

Here, there's no configuration regarding the setup of cgi and isapi modules compared to the different Cognos versions (11.0.3 and earlier). (Only isapi if using SSO).

So does this mean that in the latest versions of CA11, it is not mandatory to set cgi and isapi modules?
I just need clarifications with this.

Thanks!

sdf



 


       
Twittear