Author Topic: Locking Down "Move or Copy" function  (Read 97 times)

Offline MichaelB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Posts: 11
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Locking Down "Move or Copy" function
« on: 02 Nov 2018 10:38:20 am »
I've been scrubbing the 11.x Admin and Security Guide, and have searched online as well, but I have been unable to find a definitive answer. Is there a way to lock down only the "Move or Copy" function without touching the Run As and other functions available to users? Or even if the function can't be hidden/removed from the menu, disable it? Just as an End-User doesn't have the ability to Delete a report, we don't want them to copy it as well. Move I suppose is already locked down as they only have Execute, Read, and Traverse for our Production folder. TIA.

Offline sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 476
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: Locking Down "Move or Copy" function
« Reply #1 on: 05 Nov 2018 09:01:41 am »
Hi,

What you can do is customize the features permission of a role. This being said, the users that you want to remove the capability to "Copy or Move" should be members of a role.

If you already have this role then follow the steps:

1. In cognos glass UI go to Manage > Accounts
2. Navigate to your user's Role and right-click properties.
3. Select the Customization tab
4. Click the "Default" beside Features. This will open the Features window.
5. Expand "Reporting" > Context menus > Object Explorer options
6. Uncheck "Copy or Move" and select Apply.

This will remove the feature to Copy or move reports for that particular Role.


Cheers!

Offline MichaelB

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Posts: 11
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Locking Down "Move or Copy" function
« Reply #2 on: 09 Nov 2018 03:00:50 pm »
Thanks for the response! Will give this a try when I get me Config environment setup.

 


       
Twittear