Author Topic: How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?  (Read 3147 times)

Offline wdv72

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2007
  • Posts: 13
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?
« on: 03 Dec 2018 03:06:23 am »
Hi all,

I would like to make the "search and select prompt" fields wider to fit the contents. In Cognos 8 and 10 this could be done with som e HTML items, but this does not work in 11.

Any suggestions?

regards,

Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,895
  • Forum Citizenship: +268/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
Re: How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?
« Reply #1 on: 03 Dec 2018 11:54:22 am »
How good are you with css? I wrote a custom control that makes it easy to embed custom css for specific controls:
http://www.pmsquare.com/main/blog/custom-javascript-in-cognos-modifying-prompts/

Start with that, if you need any more help post here and I'll post a few examples.

Offline kvangor27

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 5
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?
« Reply #2 on: 24 Jan 2019 04:08:46 pm »
Hi,

Does anyone happen to know how to get the Java code in the HTML items that worked in C10 to work in C11?  We have several reports that we're moving from C10 to C11 that have HTML items with Java...

Thank you,
Kevin

Offline oscarca

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 289
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?
« Reply #3 on: 28 Jan 2019 03:20:23 am »
Hello wdv72,
If you want to change the prompt size globally, you can edit the css file aswell located: installpath\cognos\webcontent\prompting\reportskin\prompting\promptCommon.css

Hello kvangor27,

They should work the same way as they do in C10 if you set "Full Interactivity mode" to No.

Best regards,
Oscar




Offline texdon21

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2009
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?
« Reply #4 on: 10 Sep 2021 12:21:29 pm »
Did anyone implement the below solution for Search and Select prompt?

http://www.pmsquare.com/main/blog/custom-javascript-in-cognos-modifying-prompts/

This seems like a clean solution but I am getting an error in 11.1 using custom control.

Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,895
  • Forum Citizenship: +268/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
Re: How to resize search and select prompt in Cognos 11?
« Reply #5 on: 13 Sep 2021 03:15:57 am »
Hey, I know who wrote that! What error are you getting? Which version are you on?