Author Topic: Javascript "View tabular data"  (Read 204 times)

Offline frankrss

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Javascript "View tabular data"
« on: 11 Jun 2019 08:51:05 am »
Hi, If I want to see the tabular data in a query, it needs several clicks to do it, does anyone know an easier way to run ‘View tabular data’? or does somebody know the Javascripts to get the “View tabular data” menu?

Thanks a lot.
« Last Edit: 11 Jun 2019 08:54:01 am by frankrss »

Offline frankrss

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Javascript "View tabluar data"
« Reply #1 on: 11 Jun 2019 08:51:22 am »
Hi, If I want to see the tabular data in a query, it needs several clicks to do it, does anyone know an easier way to run ‘View tabular data’? or does somebody know the Javascripts to get the “View tabular data” menu?

Thanks a lot.

Offline CognosPaul

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 1,809
  • Forum Citizenship: +261/-1
    • Paul's Cognos Blog
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #2 on: 11 Jun 2019 09:41:20 pm »
In 11.1 they finally brought back the one-click "view tabular mode" button. The RS GUI in 11.1 is significantly better than 11.0.

Offline frankrss

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #3 on: 12 Jun 2019 03:45:25 am »
Thanks for letting know. Do you maybe know the action code (Javascript maybe) behind this View tablular data?

Offline oscarca

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 159
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #4 on: 12 Jun 2019 06:13:31 am »
If you have 11.1, just click on the Query and the View Tabular Data menu will appear.
« Last Edit: 12 Jun 2019 06:20:31 am by oscarca »

Offline frankrss

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #5 on: 12 Jun 2019 06:45:50 am »
I see. Using 11.0 now, no idea when it can update to the new version. I am wondering wether I can get the action code of the view tabular data behaviour, then I can use it in a JavaScript to click on a button wherever I am in the report.

Offline oscarca

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 159
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #6 on: 12 Jun 2019 07:50:27 am »
I can try to see if I find the JavaScript in the installation folder of cognos analytics

Offline dougp

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 376
  • Forum Citizenship: +19/-1
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #7 on: 12 Jun 2019 10:04:43 am »
If you already have the report open in the Report Authoring tool:
  • Click on Queries to open the Queries pane.
  • Right-click on the appropriate query.
  • Select View tabular data.

You want to replace that with this?
  • Click on a button.
  • Click on the name of the query in a list.
  • Click on another button to run the query.

You want to spend hours or days researching how to make this happen in JavaScript to perform the action in some non-standard way and save 0 clicks?
What am I missing here?

Offline frankrss

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jun 2013
  • Posts: 12
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Javascript "View tabular data"
« Reply #8 on: 12 Jun 2019 03:54:15 pm »
Hi, thanks for your reply.
When I'm in a query, I first need to click to see which query I'm in by clicking the middle part (if there are more than 1 queries). After I know which query it is, then I right click on the query, then I click on View tabluar data. 3 clicks totally.
I would like to have just one click on a button (maybe on the menu bar) to run View tabluar data. It will save a lot of clicks every day.

« Last Edit: 12 Jun 2019 03:56:52 pm by frankrss »

 



       
Twittear