Author Topic: Report errors after parallel install  (Read 351 times)

Offline actcognosuser

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 184
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Report errors after parallel install
« on: 10 May 2021 04:33:07 pm »
Hi All,

We installed same version of the Cognos (10.x) on the STAGE server .

After installation , imported a copy of existing content store. All content seems to be imported, but
there are issues running reports.

Below is the error
RSV-SRV-0051
This report specification does not have a version specified.

On further research solution seems to be :
Add a version to the report specification by specifying the namespace on the report element.

How do we add a version to the namespace? Is the version cognos install version?

Thanks in advance!

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,329
  • Forum Citizenship: +665/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Report errors after parallel install
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2021 07:45:03 am »
Hi All,

We installed same version of the Cognos (10.x) on the STAGE server .

After installation , imported a copy of existing content store. All content seems to be imported, but
there are issues running reports.

Below is the error
RSV-SRV-0051
This report specification does not have a version specified.

On further research solution seems to be :
Add a version to the report specification by specifying the namespace on the report element.

How do we add a version to the namespace? Is the version cognos install version?

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

What version of Cognos are you using exactly? It looks like this was a known defect in 10.1.x and it was fixed in 10.2

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline actcognosuser

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 184
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Report errors after parallel install
« Reply #2 on: 11 May 2021 09:31:30 am »
Hi MFGF,

Cognos version is 10.2.1.

How do we fix this issue? Does a config file need to be modified?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,329
  • Forum Citizenship: +665/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Report errors after parallel install
« Reply #3 on: 11 May 2021 09:40:38 am »
Hi MFGF,

Cognos version is 10.2.1.

How do we fix this issue? Does a config file need to be modified?

It sounds like the report specs have got messed up somewhere in the process of moving from one instance to another. How did you transfer the content from the original instance to the new one? Was it a database backup/restore of the content store database? A deployment archive? If the latter, did you select the option to upgrade the report specs during the import?

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline actcognosuser

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 184
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Report errors after parallel install
« Reply #4 on: 11 May 2021 10:02:22 am »
The import was done using the deployment archive.

There was no option of report specs during import.

Offline actcognosuser

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 184
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Report errors after parallel install
« Reply #5 on: 11 May 2021 01:36:58 pm »
Hi All,

Does a fix pack need to be applied for 10.2.1 to fix this issue?

Please advise.