Author Topic: Multiple Dataconnections to report  (Read 7101 times)

Offline babu babu

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 82
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-2
Multiple Dataconnections to report
« on: 01 Dec 2010 04:20:38 pm »
Hi,
How can i connect the same report created from the same package to oracle and sqlserver (same table structure ) based on the user selection.
If the user selects oracle report  should connect to oracle sqlserver report should connect to sqlserver

Thanks!
Anand.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,329
  • Forum Citizenship: +665/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Multiple Dataconnections to report
« Reply #1 on: 02 Dec 2010 06:35:39 am »
Hi,

Define a single Data Source.  Add two connections to this - one pointing to Oracle, the other to SQL Server.  Add the relevant database signon to each connection.  Whenever this data source is used in a report, the author will be prompted to select which one to use.

MF.
Meep!

Offline Arsenal

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2007
  • Posts: 384
  • Forum Citizenship: +18/-1
Re: Multiple Dataconnections to report
« Reply #2 on: 02 Dec 2010 03:23:45 pm »
If your user base is divided in 2 groups between who will use Oracle and who will use SQL Server, then you can ask your admin to set up 2 user groups and after doing what MFGF says, you can add the appropriate group to each of the database connections so the users will automatically be diverted to the correct database.
Common users between the two will still get prompted for the database to use, as well as any admins

Offline sir_jeroen

  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2005
  • Posts: 959
  • Forum Citizenship: +65/-41
  • Creator of the Impact Suite
    • The Impact Suite
Re: Multiple Dataconnections to report
« Reply #3 on: 29 Dec 2010 04:18:30 pm »
Don't forget not to use Database specific functions, e.g. to_date(<field>;'<format>') (<= Oracle function)  otherwise your SQL Server users will get an error.