Author Topic: Framework Manager can not connect with database on different server.  (Read 10302 times)

Offline dhavcog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2010
  • Posts: 31
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0

Hi All,,

i have created the data source in cognos connection, it is connecting to the database sitting on virtual server. while i am using that data source in Framework manager (Whis is installed in my local machine)
somehow it showing following error

QE-DEF-0285 The logon failed.
QE-DEF-0323 The DSN(ODBC)/ServiceName is invalid. Either the DSN is missing or the host is inaccessible.
RQP-DEF-0068 Unable to connect to at least one database during a multi-database attach to 1 database(s) in:
GO Sales 1

i am not able to get why it is doing that,, do i require sql native client to connect with it,,

or someone tell me how you connect to the datasource which is pointed out database not residing on your local machine.

Offline blom0344

  • Teamleader data processing
  • Global Moderator
  • Statesman
  • *****
  • Join Date: Feb 2007
  • Posts: 2,410
  • Forum Citizenship: +103/-2
  • have to let the first nerd go..
    • MRDM
We use OLE DB as connection type. For a local database you can use a dot (.) to refer to the local instance of SQL Server. for a remote server you need to specify the SQL server instance name in the connection string. Otherwise Cognos cannot resolve with SQL server instance it should attach to.
Oracle9i/11g,DB2/AS400/Busobj 6.5/Powercenter7/Cognos8/10 /
SSIS 2005 / SQL SERVER 2008 /SDDM 3.3   /   Pentaho 4.4.0 Data Integrator / SSAS 2008 / PostgreSQL 9

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,411
  • Forum Citizenship: +627/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Does your local machine have the relevant ODBC connection defined?

MF.
Meep!

Offline dhavcog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2010
  • Posts: 31
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0

So, should i have to create ODBC connection in my local machine.

what i am doing,, Create new data source from Run Metadata Wizard that create data source in cognos connection,, and successfully connected,, but then when i am using this new data source in Available data source in Run Metadata Wizard, and clicking next.  this error,, orrucred,,

As you mentioned.. i have to create Sql Server connection in Local machine,,, as well using ODBC Adminsitratior. ?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,411
  • Forum Citizenship: +627/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
From the looks of the error message, the data source connection you defined is via ODBC, so you will need the relevant matching ODBC definition on your local machine in order to connect from FM.  This will not be used on the main C8 server, though - that will use the ODBC defined on there.

If you modify the connection to use the SQL Server native client, you should be able to connect immediately from FM (if you have the SQL Server native client installed locally too).

MF.
Meep!

Offline SS1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 9
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
I have hit kind of same issue..
When i connect to datasource through cognos connection it does but when i try to run metadata wizard on same datasource in FM it gives logon failed error.
What all I have tried:
1. User can login to cognos and test the datasource too
2. User can login to FM and see namespace/querysubjects. But user try to run metadata wizard it gives error when clicked on a particular datasource
3. When I enter user credentials on my machine in FM i can connect to data source but at users's machine even my credentials  are givimg the same error.

Please advice..

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,411
  • Forum Citizenship: +627/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
I have hit kind of same issue..
When i connect to datasource through cognos connection it does but when i try to run metadata wizard on same datasource in FM it gives logon failed error.
What all I have tried:
1. User can login to cognos and test the datasource too
2. User can login to FM and see namespace/querysubjects. But user try to run metadata wizard it gives error when clicked on a particular datasource
3. When I enter user credentials on my machine in FM i can connect to data source but at users's machine even my credentials  are givimg the same error.

Please advice..

How are you connecting to the database? ODBC? Native Client? JDBC? What database are you connecting to?

MF.
Meep!

Offline SS1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 9
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
sorry for delay.. I am using ODBC connection.

This issue still remains opens..

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,411
  • Forum Citizenship: +627/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
sorry for delay.. I am using ODBC connection.

This issue still remains opens..

Ok - same question as above:

Does your local machine have the relevant ODBC connection defined?

MF.
Meep!

Offline SS1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 9
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
How can I check that?

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,411
  • Forum Citizenship: +627/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
How can I check that?

Look in the ODBC administration console on your local machine. It needs to be a 32-bit ODBC also, and defined as a System DSN. Depending on what version of Windows your local machine is running, you can usually find the 32-bit ODBC administration console at C:\Windows\SysWOW64\odbcad32.exe

MF.
Meep!

 


       
Twittear