COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos 8 Platform => COGNOS 8 => Report Studio => Topic started by: rpvs on 07 Jul 2011 04:51:32 PM

Title: Question on Dimesional Function
Post by: rpvs on 07 Jul 2011 04:51:32 PM
Our accounts dimension has 2 levels database name and account code. I Have a value prompt asking the user to choose a database name and a cross tab report with database name , account coce (in rows)  and  measures (in columns) . A filter for the query filters the report by database name choosen.

Question is how do i extract a set of account codes (account codes starting with '3')  from the list of accounts for the choosen database name. Functions like set are returning only for one database name but nothing when i change the database name.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!!
Title: Re: Question on Dimesional Function
Post by: MFGF on 08 Jul 2011 08:22:02 AM
If I was writing the report, I would use the following approach:

Instead of bringing the Database Name level into the rows of your crosstab then adding a query filter, bring a Query Calculation into the rows, and code the expression as [your Database Name level] -> ?DbNameParam?
This will make the prompting for Database Name far more efficient than using a query filter.

For the Account codes, use a filter() function to filter on the attribute (caption?) that starts with 3

eg filter([your Account Codes level],[the attribute you want to filter on] starts with '3')

Regards,

MF.