COGNOiSe.com - The IBM Cognos Community

IBM Cognos Analytics Platform => Cognos Analytics => Framework Manager => Topic started by: avik1986 on 09 Oct 2020 01:08:37 am

Title: How to modify a CQM package into DQM
Post by: avik1986 on 09 Oct 2020 01:08:37 am
Hi Team,

There are few packages which are getting use for almost 15 years. Lots of many to many relationships are present also within that. Could you please guide how to modify the package into DQM as customer wants to use 64bit server.

Regards,
avik1986
Title: Re: How to modify a CQM package into DQM
Post by: Francis aka khayman on 05 Jan 2021 12:21:22 pm
this might help

http://cognosm.blogspot.com/2019/03/dqm-in-cognos-analytics.html
Title: Re: How to modify a CQM package into DQM
Post by: dougp on 05 Jan 2021 12:28:35 pm
The short answer:
Open the model in Framework Manager, change the query mode from Compatible to Dynamic, publish packages.

Be sure to test all of your reports.  DQM is less forgiving.
Title: Re: How to modify a CQM package into DQM
Post by: MFGF on 05 Jan 2021 12:44:33 pm
The short answer:
Open the model in Framework Manager, change the query mode from Compatible to Dynamic, publish packages.

Be sure to test all of your reports.  DQM is less forgiving.

You might also need to change the data source, depending which you are using. DQM requires a JDBC connection whereas CQM uses native client.

When you make the change to query mode in FM, your model will get verified. Past experience proves this to be a painful and laborious process where the process stops or hangs because of crazy things that were done (and not flagged as illegal) in the CQM model. You'll end up scouring the Dynamic Query logs to find out what is causing each issue. Then you fix it, try again, and hit the next issue. And so on. It can take a lot of time, so don't underestimate the scale of the task ahead of you. Once that is done, your next task (as Doug says) is to test the reports.

Cheers!

MF.