Author Topic: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101  (Read 7981 times)

Offline phani1979

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 107
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-10
. [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« on: 09 Apr 2007 01:14:04 pm »
Hello

I am trying to install Cognos8 on Windows Vista Home Premium edition with SQl serve client edition


Iam connecting to the database, when starting the service, it's giving the error


[Registering Service]
1. [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101 Unable to register Cognos 8 service.
Execution of the external process returns an error code value of '5'.




Even i check in the cognos support for this problem, It says I require  windows Adminsitrator right for starting the cognos8 services, I had disabled  antivirus..  and   


But iam the Windows adminstrator by default..

Does any experienced before . Help me, iam  stuck here from past 5 weeks..

thanks lot
phani

Offline COGNOiSe administrator

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Posts: 675
  • Forum Citizenship: +32/-8
    • BrightStar Partners, Inc
Re: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« Reply #1 on: 09 Apr 2007 01:24:47 pm »
First of all, you are on your own, as Vista is not supported for Cognos 8.

Second, Vista has additional security features, sometime requiring you to start an application as Administrator, meaning, you would have to start CfgMgr as Administrator. Do not assume that you are.
Usually in Vista, every low level action like adding services, pops up a little window asking for additional permission. Are you getting it?

Offline phani1979

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2005
  • Posts: 107
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-10
Re: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« Reply #2 on: 13 Apr 2007 12:59:59 pm »
Hi

Yes, you are right, when i open a window, Vista asks for permission.. so what to do

Offline COGNOiSe administrator

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Posts: 675
  • Forum Citizenship: +32/-8
    • BrightStar Partners, Inc
Re: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« Reply #3 on: 15 Apr 2007 09:49:49 am »
... you allow .. Actually, I think you have to start the configuration app in special admin way. As I don't have Vista handy, thta's as far as I can get you. Keep in mind, it is an uphill battle since Vista is NOT SUPPORTED.

Offline mrcool

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2005
  • Posts: 409
  • Forum Citizenship: +27/-30
Re: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« Reply #4 on: 25 Jun 2007 07:00:14 am »
HI all...am facing the same problem in wiondows 2000 server
Cognos reportnet 1.1 MR3

Can u please tell me the problem....
able to save config without error...but when trying to run the server
Regestring the 'Cognos reportnet' getting failed....
Please help me out...
Thanks in advance

Offline COGNOiSe administrator

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Posts: 675
  • Forum Citizenship: +32/-8
    • BrightStar Partners, Inc
Re: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« Reply #5 on: 25 Jun 2007 12:15:53 pm »
Do you have sufficient rights?

Offline mycognos

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 41
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: . [ ERROR ] CFG-ERR-0101
« Reply #6 on: 18 May 2009 06:53:11 am »
Hi,

I am aslo getting the same problem in Windows Xp...can anyone help??

 


       
Twittear