Author Topic: avoid duplicate values during cube refresh  (Read 7092 times)

Offline cognosun

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 226
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
avoid duplicate values during cube refresh
« on: 16 Nov 2012 12:30:26 am »
There is this value in a cube, under a level , say ' customer sale'

Later this name got changed to 'customer- sale' in the database.

Now I want this new name ( 'customer- sale') to replace the old name.

What precausion do I need to take while cube refresh for this...because if I refresh cube without taking any precausions I'm seeing 2 such values?

Many thanks in advance


Offline Bark

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2012
  • Posts: 79
  • Forum Citizenship: +7/-0
Re: avoid duplicate values during cube refresh
« Reply #1 on: 16 Nov 2012 05:17:49 am »
You need to delete the categories from the model before hitting "generate cube".

When you open Transformer and generate a cube, one of the steps is to generate all the categories from your sources. Well, this categories remain there unless you delete them so, if you don't, next time you generate de cube, it will bring the new ones but the old ones will still be there.

Regards,

Bark

Offline cognosun

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 226
  • Forum Citizenship: +1/-0
Re: avoid duplicate values during cube refresh
« Reply #2 on: 17 Nov 2012 10:54:16 am »
Thanks Bark, that is a good suggestion.

Offline Dev1975

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Posts: 112
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: avoid duplicate values during cube refresh
« Reply #3 on: 18 Feb 2014 05:12:18 am »
Hi, I'm having a similar problem with a Customer cube at the moment. I've deleted the categories under "Customer" from the Categories window and then create the powercube, however the values are shown as duplicate. So, instead of one entry I am seeing two for each Customer.

Is there a way of enabling some tracing during the build process to see what is actually happening? Also, is there any other way of ensuring that duplicates are not generated during the cube build?

Many thanks,
Dev