Author Topic: Cognos Mobile Connectivity  (Read 3394 times)

Offline Universe1418

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Posts: 30
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« on: 02 Jun 2015 04:05:45 am »
Hi,

I'm using Cognos 10.2.2 and new to Cognos Mobile feature. I would like to know the kind of connectivity that I can use for Cognos Mobile App in Iphone/Ipad. Can I only connect when I'm in the intranet or I can connect via internet? Can you share some steps how to do it?

Thanks and Best Regards!
Universe1418

Offline bdbits

  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1,799
  • Forum Citizenship: +105/-0
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #1 on: 03 Jun 2015 09:12:42 am »
That is entirely dependent on your networking setup. Cognos will work fine over the internet, but there is a good chance that it is blocked by firewalls unless it was specifically opened up to internet access. Alternatively, again depending on your organizations networking setup, it may be possible to establish a vpn link from the mobile device to your workplace network, and then connect to Cognos.

Offline Universe1418

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Posts: 30
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #2 on: 02 Jul 2015 05:27:55 am »
Hi,

We requested one of our internal cognos portal to be available in internet and now I can access it using a browser in my iphone.

How I can configure it to be accessible using the Cognos mobile app for iphone? I tried to generate a mobile configuration code and use the same IBM cognos server url without password and SSL/TLS certificate pinning but whenever I click the generated code link, I always get "Mobile Configuration Failed".

Appreciate your insights and suggestion to this inquiry. Thanks!

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,222
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #3 on: 03 Jul 2015 07:39:13 am »
Hi,

We requested one of our internal cognos portal to be available in internet and now I can access it using a browser in my iphone.

How I can configure it to be accessible using the Cognos mobile app for iphone? I tried to generate a mobile configuration code and use the same IBM cognos server url without password and SSL/TLS certificate pinning but whenever I click the generated code link, I always get "Mobile Configuration Failed".

Appreciate your insights and suggestion to this inquiry. Thanks!

If you can already connect to Cognos using your phone's browser, try simply adding a connection from the Mobile app using the same URL to connect (the one that worked in your browser)

MF.
Meep!

Offline Universe1418

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Posts: 30
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #4 on: 05 Jul 2015 11:15:44 pm »
Hi MF,

Thanks for the advice, Yes the url worked same how it was used in the browser.

Now I'm facing a issue wherein I cannot open an active report in cognos mobile app using iphone 6, The MHT file is about 25mb and it only in shows "starting" status. The same MHT file can be opened normally in desktop.

Thanks and Best Regards!
Universe1418

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,222
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #5 on: 06 Jul 2015 05:13:52 am »
Hi MF,

Thanks for the advice, Yes the url worked same how it was used in the browser.

Now I'm facing a issue wherein I cannot open an active report in cognos mobile app using iphone 6, The MHT file is about 25mb and it only in shows "starting" status. The same MHT file can be opened normally in desktop.

Thanks and Best Regards!
Universe1418

With a 25Mb mht file, I'm not surprised your phone won't open it. It's WAY too big. Active Reports are designed to deliver summary data, not your entire data warehouse ;)

You need to look at your active report design to see if you can streamline it. Are you using charts on data decks? You may be able to decrease the size by switching to visualizations?

MF.
Meep!

Offline Universe1418

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Posts: 30
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #6 on: 06 Jul 2015 11:38:23 pm »
Hi MF,

The active report is indeed using charts, data decks and repeater table as it has a Tiles setting where each tile has data and charts in it represented by countries.

Do we have recommended active report size for cognos mobile usage? Also I noticed that when active report is being downloaded to Cognos mobile it is really slow even a test MHT file is just 2MB for example.

Thanks,
Universe1418

Offline charon

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 398
  • Forum Citizenship: +19/-3
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #7 on: 07 Jul 2015 02:45:07 am »
We have made good experiences with Active Reports with sizes below 10 MB, 3-6 MB would be a good size.
In case you are using a lot of charts, u might wanne consider RAVE in your redesign attempts. RAVE  vizualisations do not render on the server (and therefore dont blow the size of an active report), instead the enginge renders the charts on client site. This could lead to a much smaller A.R. depending on the current design.
regards
charon
 
- knuffel the muffel in the puffel -

Offline Universe1418

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2009
  • Posts: 30
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos Mobile Connectivity
« Reply #8 on: 07 Jul 2015 05:02:19 am »
Hi,

We can maybe explore the Rave visualization to optimize our Active Report, but one thing that I notice is the slow download process of the active reports and most of the time we cannot open it even though it's just 2MB file size. Do you have standard configurations that you may share to make sure that our Cognos Mobile will run as efficient as possible?

I'm also suspecting network issues if you can share tips also in this side it will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

 


       
Twittear