Author Topic: FM labels  (Read 235 times)

Offline sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 394
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
FM labels
« on: 01 Jan 2018 06:38:14 pm »
 Currently query items are in codes. So I'm looking for a way to name them (label) for users to understand using business names.
Is there a functionality in FM to do this? This is for relational source.

I remember when we used cubes, we just created an attribute for the business names and in report we used this attribute as the label source.


any input will be appreciated

thanks a bunch!

Offline Invisi

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 240
  • Forum Citizenship: +6/-5
    • Invisi - Vision on Information
Re: FM labels
« Reply #1 on: 03 Jan 2018 07:43:21 am »
It is very simple to change it. During the course you were told how to do it. Did you take a course on Framework Manager?
Few can be done on Cognos | RTFM for those who ask basic questions...

Offline sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 394
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: FM labels
« Reply #2 on: 03 Jan 2018 10:48:42 pm »
Hi Invinsi,

I am not referring to changing the names of the query items to business names. Sorry for my previous post, I wasn't clear.
What I'm looking for is to having a label associated with my query items preserving the original names from db (in codes).

Ex:
quey item name : XXDOCT

Name        Label
XXDOCT    Expense Document

I am not sure if I am clear enough.

Offline Invisi

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Posts: 240
  • Forum Citizenship: +6/-5
    • Invisi - Vision on Information
Re: FM labels
« Reply #3 on: 05 Jan 2018 02:07:41 am »
I fail to see what you really want to achieve. To me it sounds something you do by using the different layers. You have a database layer where the query items have the database names and then a logical and/or business layer where the query items are named in business terms. Then definition in the second layer(s) show the underlying database names.

Is this what you want to achieve really for the framework or are you talking about some kind of lineage that is also visible in reports?
Few can be done on Cognos | RTFM for those who ask basic questions...

 


       
Twittear