Author Topic: Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv  (Read 1035 times)

Offline cognosdelaware

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Posts: 22
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv
« on: 14 Feb 2018 10:30:13 am »
Hi,

  Is there anyway to have a reports default output be csv instead of the html when it is run?

  It is an adhoc run and not a scheduled report.

Thank you

Offline hespora

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Posts: 381
  • Forum Citizenship: +22/-0
Re: Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv
« Reply #1 on: 16 Feb 2018 01:39:10 am »
in your user preferences, you can set a default type for *all* report executions. I'm not aware of being able to do this by report.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,474
  • Forum Citizenship: +632/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv
« Reply #2 on: 16 Feb 2018 04:15:56 am »
Hi,

  Is there anyway to have a reports default output be csv instead of the html when it is run?

  It is an adhoc run and not a scheduled report.

Thank you

Hi,

Find the report in Cognos Connection. Go into the properties of the report and navigate to the Report tab. Check the "Override the default report options" checkbox, and you can then set the default format for the report rendering to be "Delimited text (CSV)"

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline khayman

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 416
  • Forum Citizenship: +25/-3
Re: Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv
« Reply #3 on: 30 Aug 2018 09:58:38 am »
i recently encountered a "report saved as CSV" issue myself. so just for fun...

... the delimiter you get might not be the one you need. in which case some server settings have to be done... hint RSVP.CSV.DELIMITER

there are other things as well like different file extension, terminating character, etc

reply if you encountered those issues as well

Offline sdf

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 479
  • Forum Citizenship: +3/-0
Re: Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv
« Reply #4 on: 30 Aug 2018 11:30:09 am »
So you can specify the delimeter weather comma,space,pipe????

Offline khayman

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jun 2009
  • Posts: 416
  • Forum Citizenship: +25/-3
Re: Anyway to force a report to have output as .csv
« Reply #5 on: 30 Aug 2018 11:34:09 am »
yup. default will be tab if i am not mistaken.

 


       
Twittear