Author Topic: Cognos 11.0.12  (Read 157 times)

Offline firefly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Cognos 11.0.12
« on: 10 Aug 2018 09:06:36 am »
We are working on testing our new Cognos 11.0.12 instance and we see a strange behavior with the Fly out menu

when cognos 11.0.12 is idle for less than 5 minutes, The contents/menu inside Team contents & My Contents disappear and it appears blank.

Has anyone experienced the same situation? If so, what were the steps to resolve it?

Thanks


Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #1 on: 10 Aug 2018 09:33:15 am »
We are working on testing our new Cognos 11.0.12 instance and we see a strange behavior with the Fly out menu

when cognos 11.0.12 is idle for less than 5 minutes, The contents/menu inside Team contents & My Contents disappear and it appears blank.

Has anyone experienced the same situation? If so, what were the steps to resolve it?

Thanks

I don't see this issue in the 11.0.12 instance I have here. How are you connecting - via the servlet gateway or via a web server?

MF.
Meep!

Offline firefly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #2 on: 10 Aug 2018 09:56:17 am »
Thank you MFGF.

We are using the servlet gateway to connect.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #3 on: 10 Aug 2018 10:03:42 am »
Thank you MFGF.

We are using the servlet gateway to connect.

Ok - me too. That rules out any interference from a web server, at least.

Could it be a browser issue? Are you using a supported browser / version?

MF.
Meep!

Offline firefly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #4 on: 10 Aug 2018 10:29:25 am »
We are using supported browsers.

I am using IE and I experienced the same thing on Chrome and Firefox.(and my co workers as well)

But predominantly I use IE for running reports.

We also use a SSO to log in to get to Cognos.

Offline Reinhard

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Posts: 23
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #5 on: 10 Aug 2018 10:53:32 am »
I experienced this with IE and not in FF. There is a technote that describes how to add the correct mime types should they have not been added by the IIS script or through manual configuration.

Offline firefly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #6 on: 10 Aug 2018 11:07:12 am »
Hi Reinhard,

Yes I did go through the technote, but it talks about using IIS as your Web server and not Apache.
We use Apache.

Have you come across anything with Apache?


Thanks,
Vidya

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #7 on: 10 Aug 2018 11:22:41 am »
Hi Reinhard,

Yes I did go through the technote, but it talks about using IIS as your Web server and not Apache.
We use Apache.

Have you come across anything with Apache?


Thanks,
Vidya

Wait! What? You're using an Apache web server?

Earlier I asked:

How are you connecting - via the servlet gateway or via a web server?

You replied:

We are using the servlet gateway to connect.

Now you're saying you're using a web server?

Ok. Let's see if we can clear this up. Is the URL you use in the form <server>:9300/bi - if so this is using the servlet gateway. If not, you're using the CA gateway component with a web server. If you are using a web server, can you try accessing CA through the servlet gateway and see if you still see the same issue?

MF.
Meep!

Offline firefly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jul 2018
  • Posts: 6
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #8 on: 13 Aug 2018 10:45:23 am »
Sorry for the confusion earlier. Trying to really understand things around here.

So we are connecting via web server. Like you suggested , we did try to connect directly through the gateway and did not see the issue with the menu items.

We also have a SSO as an entry point. Now we are in a process of eliminating the SSO and testing the same to check if that could be the issue. Because when that is timed out , and if browser was idle for 5 minutes, that is when we have issues with the menu items disappearing.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,281
  • Forum Citizenship: +620/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos 11.0.12
« Reply #9 on: 13 Aug 2018 11:04:58 am »
Sorry for the confusion earlier. Trying to really understand things around here.

So we are connecting via web server. Like you suggested , we did try to connect directly through the gateway and did not see the issue with the menu items.

We also have a SSO as an entry point. Now we are in a process of eliminating the SSO and testing the same to check if that could be the issue. Because when that is timed out , and if browser was idle for 5 minutes, that is when we have issues with the menu items disappearing.

If you don't see the issue using the servlet gateway, it pinpoints the problem as being your web server config rather than an issue with CA itself. Hopefully you can dig into how your have configured access via Apache and it will become clear what the cause is. Sadly I don't connect that way, so I can't provide any insight here.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

 


       
Twittear