Author Topic: What is the differnce between Cognos 10 vs CA11 ?  (Read 1162 times)

Offline Chowdary2009

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2009
  • Posts: 9
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
What is the differnce between Cognos 10 vs CA11 ?
« on: 21 May 2019 05:34:27 am »
Hi All.,

Can some one please help me to understand "What is the difference between Cognos 10 vs CA11".

Thanks in Advance..!!!

Offline rockytopmark

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2006
  • Posts: 547
  • Forum Citizenship: +46/-0
Re: What is the differnce between Cognos 10 vs CA11 ?
« Reply #1 on: 22 May 2019 09:32:00 am »
1

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,821
  • Forum Citizenship: +646/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Meep!

Offline dougp

  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Posts: 432
  • Forum Citizenship: +21/-1
Re: What is the differnce between Cognos 10 vs CA11 ?
« Reply #3 on: 23 May 2019 11:09:27 am »
Cognos 10.2.1 mostly worked.
Cognos 11.0.x has shiny objects that attract people who manage budgets but don't understand the risks involved with "cutting edge" software.

Cognos 11.0.0 was released on December of 2015.  The product was basically non-functional until 11.0.4 (released in November 2016).
Cognos 11.0.13, released in October(?) of 2018, clearly uses some more current core technologies than Cognos 10 (RequireJS is the obvious one for me), but there are a lot of things that are still broken and the user interface is far less efficient.  For example, in Cognos 10 you can enter text into a text box prompt and hit ENTER to activate the FINISH action.  To do this in Cognos 11, you need to build the report in Compatible (with Cognos 10) mode.

Of course, the Cognos 10 "workspaces" were pretty lame.  Cognos 11 does a much better job with "dashboards".  But they are still pretty limited.  Don't expect to get good performance when using data of non-trivial size.  (Then the user complains when the dashboard won't work if they want to show more than 30 columns on a list.)  Cognos provides a way to preprocess and stage the data for dashboards (modules -> data sets), but do you really want that done in a proprietary reporting tool, or is your database server a better place for that?  (Yes, I understand that some people have seen their reporting system remain stable while their RDBMS changes on a whim.  Where I work, we have used the same RDBMS for decades.)  So basically, from the user's perspective, the dashboarding feature is like Tableau:  Export the data you need into Excel, then connect the Excel file to the dashboard.

But the main difference is this:  Cognos 10 is no longer supported.

 



       
Twittear