Author Topic: Cognos Framework Manager QUESTION  (Read 235 times)

Offline Claudio

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2020
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Cognos Framework Manager QUESTION
« on: 28 Oct 2020 05:34:48 am »
Hello I'm a new user,

I need some information about Cognos Framework manager. Could you please help me?

Do we need to publish the package every time we do a modification, not possible to automatically link it to the report?

When I log out/every day, I need to relink my package to my app tin order to get data?

Can we replace a package with another package in a report or dashboard?


Thank you.

Online MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 11,090
  • Forum Citizenship: +657/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Re: Cognos Framework Manager QUESTION
« Reply #1 on: 28 Oct 2020 08:26:10 am »
Hello I'm a new user,

I need some information about Cognos Framework manager. Could you please help me?

Do we need to publish the package every time we do a modification, not possible to automatically link it to the report?

When I log out/every day, I need to relink my package to my app tin order to get data?

Can we replace a package with another package in a report or dashboard?


Thank you.

Hi,

If you make changes to a Framework Manager model, those changes are held locally within the model xml on your machine. If/when you want those changes to be available for people logged in to Cognos, you then need to publish your package to make the changes available to them.

I'm not sure what you mean when you refer to relinking a package to your app tin. What is an app tin? If you have a package already published, the package uses a data source connection in Cognos to link to the underlying data. Any new rows added to the data will automatically appear in reports next time you run them. Is this what you mean?

Yes you can replace a package with a different package in a report. It's not very often you would need to do this though. Normally you would just republish an updated package from Framework Manager, meaning reports continue to use the same package but which now includes the changes you made in FM.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline Claudio

  • Associate
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2020
  • Posts: 2
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Cognos Framework Manager QUESTION
« Reply #2 on: 28 Oct 2020 09:11:08 am »
Hi,

If you make changes to a Framework Manager model, those changes are held locally within the model xml on your machine. If/when you want those changes to be available for people logged in to Cognos, you then need to publish your package to make the changes available to them.

I'm not sure what you mean when you refer to relinking a package to your app tin. What is an app tin? If you have a package already published, the package uses a data source connection in Cognos to link to the underlying data. Any new rows added to the data will automatically appear in reports next time you run them. Is this what you mean?

Yes you can replace a package with a different package in a report. It's not very often you would need to do this though. Normally you would just republish an updated package from Framework Manager, meaning reports continue to use the same package but which now includes the changes you made in FM.

Cheers!

MF.


Hi,

Yes is that what I mean. Thank you, It's all clear.
I don't have issue anymore.

Thank you,
regards.