Author Topic: Applying security to Transformer 8.4 using Active Directory  (Read 4488 times)

Offline mcguija

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2010
  • Posts: 9
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Hi I'm trying to apply dimension security using the standard custom views, my security is pulled from Active Directory and I'm using the 'Apex' option to limit categories.  So far it is not working, I continue to get bumped up to the top level in my hierarchy, even though my test user is 2 levels down.

This same approach works fine with Access Manager, has anyone used Active Directory to secure a dimension on a cube?  Did you use Apex or exclude?

Thanks
Jason

Offline bdbits

  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 1,820
  • Forum Citizenship: +106/-0
Re: Applying security to Transformer 8.4 using Active Directory
« Reply #1 on: 25 Mar 2010 04:10:36 pm »
We use AD groups with apex extensively to lock down our cubes (v8.4.0). It works fine. There is a caveat - if the logon you are using does not belong to any of the AD groups assigned to a custom view, you will see everything with no apexes applied. Also, make sure you drag your custom views under the cube in Transformer.

A handy thing is in Cognos Connection user preferences, you can see the group memberships Cognos sees you belonging to, among other things.

Hope this helps you out.

Offline dhavcog

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2010
  • Posts: 31
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Re: Applying security to Transformer 8.4 using Active Directory
« Reply #2 on: 01 Jun 2010 07:27:24 pm »

Hi,,

I want to apply security using in Transformer 8.4 using AD.. now i have dimension called Agency and want to assign individual AD login to each of the Agency,, i have 100 agencies so i have to create 100 custom views each of them filtering data for individual agency.. but it seems not practical for me for managing it,,

is there any other way,,

thanks,
dhav

 


       
Twittear