Author Topic: Cube created Successfully but report show null values - Cognos transformer.  (Read 277 times)

Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Hi,

The cube gets successfully created and deployed in Cognos transformer however when I create reports based on the cube it only returns NULL values. Like seen in the attached file.

What could be the issue.

Vincent

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,651
  • Forum Citizenship: +638/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Hi,

The cube gets successfully created and deployed in Cognos transformer however when I create reports based on the cube it only returns NULL values. Like seen in the attached file.

What could be the issue.

Vincent

If I had to guess, I'd assume the measure value is not in scope with the dimension(s)? Have you looked at the Scope Diagram in Transformer?

MF.
Meep!

Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Yes, I did check and confirmed that the measures are in the scope diagram in transformer.

Vincent


Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
see attached dimension map for details. The cube had no issue last week.  have no clue what happened today.

Vincent

Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
Could the suppression of "By All Dates"  category create an issue. See attached image.

Offline MFGF

  • Never knowingly correct
  • Super Moderator
  • Statesman
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2005
  • Posts: 10,651
  • Forum Citizenship: +638/-10
  • Cognos Software Muppet
Could the suppression of "By All Dates"  category create an issue. See attached image.

Suppression of the drill category is normal (and expected) where you have multiple drill paths in a dimension. I can't see it causing this issue.

Cheers!

MF.
Meep!

Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
MFGF,

I had created many reports prior to making the suppression of Root category change you had recommended on the earlier topic created on the forum.

I can take any of these reports  and  change it to add Year as the columns,  Customer as rows and measure as Units shipped. The report is good to go and retrieves  accurate data for the selected criteria.

However if i create a new report (cross tab)  based on the same cube and add Year as the columns,  Customer as rows and measure as Units shipped. It retrieves null values.

Why is it that reports created prior to this suppression change are good to go but reports created after this suppression change retrieve null values.

What  setups are missing in the changed cube.  Please advise.

Vincent

Offline adam_mc

  • Community Leader
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2012
  • Posts: 226
  • Forum Citizenship: +12/-0
Are you in a multi-server environment?
If so, you will need to ensure that you are updating all versions of the cube.
Otherwise, it is possible that you are connecting to different versions of the "same" cube.

Just a thought.
Adam.

Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
This is not a multi server environment and before I could published the cube today to content store I had deleted the datasource and cube from the content store .

The possibility of connecting to different data source does not arise.

Vincent

Offline vincydza@gmail.com

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Posts: 57
  • Forum Citizenship: +0/-0
After further analyzing the issue i have reached a conclusion that any report created last week is good to go. However any new report created this week against the cube is returning null values.

MFGF is correct suppression of the root category has no impact on this issue. its just a coincidence

Any clues why the new reports created this week are returning null values.

Vincent

 



       
Twittear